A Date at the Altar Book
Score: 4
From 2 Ratings

A Date at the Altar


  • Author : Cathy Maxwell
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2016-10-25
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 384
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062388667

DOWNLOAD BOOK
A Date at the Altar Excerpt :

New York Times bestselling author Cathy Maxwell’s glittering Marrying the Duke series continues—Twice he has been close to the altar and still no duchess. Will the third time be the charm? A duke can’t marry just anyone. His wife must be of good family, be fertile, be young. Struggling playwright Sarah Pettijohn is absolutely the last woman Gavin Whitridge, Duke of Baynton, would ever fall in love with. She is an actress, born on the wrong side of the blanket, and always challenges his ducal authority. She never hesitates to tell him what she thinks. However, there is something about her that stirs his blood . . . which makes her perfect for a bargain he has in mind: In exchange for backing her play, he wants Sarah to teach him about love. And he, in turn, has a few things to teach her about men . . .

Tikal Reports  Numbers 1 11 Book

Tikal Reports Numbers 1 11


  • Author : Edwin M. Shook
  • Publisher : University of Pennsylvania Press
  • Release Date : 2014-02-28
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages : 431
  • ISBN 10 : 9781934536339

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Tikal Reports Numbers 1 11 Excerpt :

Any consideration of ancient Mesoamerica, and more particularly the lowland Maya region, must include the great site of Tikal, Guatemala. Excavation and research were conducted at Tikal under the auspices of the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology and the government of Guatemala from 1956 through 1969. The painstaking analysis of the results of those years of fieldwork continues, and the results will be published in a projected total of 39 final reports. This volume includes facsimile editions of the first 11 numbers of the final reports, on various topics relevant to the early excavations at Tikal, carried out by the University Museum. University Museum Monograph 64

Notes and Queries Book

Notes and Queries


  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1871
  • Genre: Electronic journals
  • Pages : 606
  • ISBN 10 : CUB:U183015729669

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Notes and Queries Excerpt :

A Handbook to Classical Reception in Eastern and Central Europe Book

A Handbook to Classical Reception in Eastern and Central Europe


  • Author : Zara Martirosova Torlone
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release Date : 2017-02-06
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages : 632
  • ISBN 10 : 9781118832684

DOWNLOAD BOOK
A Handbook to Classical Reception in Eastern and Central Europe Excerpt :

A Handbook to Classical Reception in Eastern and Central Europe is the first comprehensive English?]language study of the reception of classical antiquity in Eastern and Central Europe. This groundbreaking work offers detailed case studies of thirteen countries that are fully contextualized historically, locally, and regionally. The first English-language collection of research and scholarship on Greco-Roman heritage in Eastern and Central Europe Written and edited by an international group of seasoned and up-and-coming scholars with vast subject-matter experience and expertise Essays from leading scholars in the field provide broad insight into the reception of the classical world within specific cultural and geographical areas Discusses the reception of many aspects of Greco-Roman heritage, such as prose/philosophy, poetry, material culture Offers broad and significant insights into the complicated engagement many countries of Eastern and Central Europe have had and continue to have with Greco-Roman antiquity

The House of the Bacabs  Cop  n  Honduras Book

The House of the Bacabs Cop n Honduras


  • Author : David L. Webster
  • Publisher : Dumbarton Oaks
  • Release Date : 1989
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 120
  • ISBN 10 : 0884021777

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The House of the Bacabs Cop n Honduras Excerpt :

Dorie Reents-Budet, Curator, Pre-Columbian Art, Duke University Museum of Art, Claude Baudez, William Fash Jr., Berthold Riese, William Sanders, and David Webster contribute to this monograph, and using an integrated art historical and anthropological approach, consider the House of the Bacabs' context as an elite Maya structure, its excavation and restoration, and its iconographic and epigraphic reconstruction and interpretation, to establish models for understanding Classic Maya social and political life.

Roman Sacrificial Altars Book

Roman Sacrificial Altars


  • Author : Helen Cox Bowerman
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1913
  • Genre: Altars
  • Pages : 164
  • ISBN 10 : WISC:89100082023

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Roman Sacrificial Altars Excerpt :

The Excavations at Dura Europos Book

The Excavations at Dura Europos


  • Author : Yale University
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1929
  • Genre: Dura-Europos (Extinct city)
  • Pages : 98
  • ISBN 10 : UOM:39015027254179

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Excavations at Dura Europos Excerpt :

RIBA Journal Book

RIBA Journal


  • Author : Royal Institute of British Architects
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1916
  • Genre: Architecture
  • Pages : 370
  • ISBN 10 : SRLF:D0005227319

DOWNLOAD BOOK
RIBA Journal Excerpt :

The Hellenistic Polis of Kos Book

The Hellenistic Polis of Kos


  • Author : Kerstin Höghammar
  • Publisher : Uppsala Universitet
  • Release Date : 2004
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 212
  • ISBN 10 : UOM:39015061384064

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Hellenistic Polis of Kos Excerpt :

"The general aim of the conference, the papers of which are published in this volume, was to convene scholars working on different aspects of Koan history and culture during the Hellenistic period to provide an up-to-date view of present research in different fields. The contributions cover the main areas of archaeology, epigraphy, history, numismatics and prosopography and also touch upon art history and geology. Most of the articles concern inscriptions in one form or another and their chronological and historical contexts. The contributions cover questions connected with the Koan Asklepieia in the third century, a general survey of the chronology of inscriptions and the application of S. Tracey's method of distinguishing different hands, the chronology of the eponymous magistrates, the monarchoi, and of a group of decorated, funerary altars. The modern historical events resulting in the delay in the publication of IG XII are presented. Also treated are the personal names on coins, a recently excavated statue base for a poetess, Hellenistic democracy, and two inscriptions, a local decree and a cult calendar, from Halasarna. Three articles treat Koan amphoras. They give a survey of the Koan amphora shapes known up to now and present new material from Halasarna and the southern Levant. A refined system for the dating of complete or nearly complete amphoras through the proportions of the vessels is presented. Certain methodological problems encountered when trying to ""translate"" the number of stamped handles reported at a certain site into a rough estimate of the probable volume of wine which they signify are also discussed. Finally, we are given a survey of the stone materials extracted on the island and how they were used in different periods."

The Athenaeum Book

The Athenaeum


  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1866
  • Genre: Uncategoriezed
  • Pages : 898
  • ISBN 10 : WISC:89013032727

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Athenaeum Excerpt :

At Fear s Altar Book

At Fear s Altar


  • Author : Richard Gavin
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 2012-10
  • Genre: Fantasy fiction, Canadian
  • Pages : 254
  • ISBN 10 : 1614980268

DOWNLOAD BOOK
At Fear s Altar Excerpt :

Richard Gavin's new collection has some of the finest weird fiction I have ever read, tales that are unique and effective. His sequel to H. P. Lovecraft's 'The Hound' is especially delicious. This is a wonderful book, highly recommended! W. H. Pugmire Richard Gavin is one of the bright new stars in contemporary weird fiction. His richly textured style, deft character portrayal, and powerful horrific conceptions make every one of his tales a pleasure to read. S. T. Joshi If you hear some in Kadath saying, Numinous, Terrifying, or Beautiful, they are either talking about the Northern Lights or the work of Richard Gavin. Canada? They re calling it Canada now? Whatever. Don Webb Canadian author Richard Gavin has established himself as a leading contemporary writer of weird fiction. His richly nuanced prose style, his imaginative range, and his shrewdness in the portrayal of character and domestic conflict make his tales far more than mere shudder-coining. In this fourth collection of short stories and novelettes, Gavin again casts a wide imaginative net, from haunted Canadian woodlands to the carnivorous mesas of the American frontier, from Lovecraft s New England to the spirit traditions of Japan. Of the dozen stories included in this book, eight are previously unpublished a rich new feast of terror for devotees of a writer who works in the tradition of Poe, Machen, Blackwood, and Ligotti. Richard Gavin is the author of three previous short story collections, Charnel Wine (2004), Omens (2007), and The Darkly Splendid Realm (2009). Gavin lives in Ontario, Canada, with his beloved wife and their brood.