Devotion Book

Devotion


  • Author : Adam Makos
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 2015
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages : 481
  • ISBN 10 : 9780804176583

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Devotion Excerpt :

For readers of Unbroken, In the Garden of Beasts, and Band of Brothers comes a pulse-pounding, heart-wrenching tale of bravery and brotherhood set against the backdrop of America's “forgotten war” in Korea—from the New York Times bestselling author of A Higher Call Devotion tells the inspirational story of the U.S. Navy's most famous aviator duo: Lieutenant Tom Hudner, a white, blue-blooded New Englander, and Ensign Jesse Brown, an African American sharecropper's son from Mississippi. The heir to a Massachusetts grocery store empire, Tom passed up Harvard to fly fighter planes for his country. Jesse, fascinated by aircraft since childhood, defied the odds—and the prejudices of his time—to become the Navy's first black carrier pilot. Barely a year after President Truman ordered the desegregation of the military, the unlikely pair joined forces as wingmen in Fighter Squadron 32. While much of America remained in the grip of the odious Jim Crow segregation laws, Jesse and Tom flew above the fray as brothers in arms. Adam Makos takes us over the sea and around the globe with these two bold young aviators as they cut their teeth at the world's most dangerous job—landing Corsair fighters on the deck of an aircraft carrier. Deployed to the Mediterranean, the two men revel in the perks of their newfound status, partying on the Riviera with millionaires and Hollywood starlets—including a young Elizabeth Taylor. While Jesse delights in a world he thought he'd never see, Tom meets the girl of his dreams. Then comes the war no one expected in far-off Korea. Devotion brings us along on white-knuckle dive-bombing runs over North Korean territory, as the pilots of Fighter Squadron 32 man the front lines of what many of them believe is the opening battle of World War III. As the fury of the fighting escalates, Tom and Jesse fly, guns blazing, into waves of Communist troops to defend a group of Marines cornered in a hellish winter landscape. When one of the duo is shot

Devotion Book
Score: 5
From 2 Ratings

Devotion


  • Author : Hannah Kent
  • Publisher : Pan Macmillan
  • Release Date : 2022-02-03
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 423
  • ISBN 10 : 9781509863907

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Devotion Excerpt :

'A glorious love story' – Sarah Winman, author of Still Life 'Extraordinarily daring . . . a remarkable novel, an almost visionary celebration of the death-defying power of the women’s love' - Sunday Times 1836, Prussia. Hanne is nearly fifteen and the domestic world of womanhood is quickly closing in on her. A child of nature, she yearns instead for the rush of the river, the wind dancing around her. Hanne finds little comfort in the local girls and friendship doesn't come easily, until she meets Thea and she finds in her a kindred spirit and finally, acceptance. Hanne's family are Old Lutherans, and in her small village hushed worship is done secretly - this is a community under threat. But when they are granted safe passage to Australia, the community rejoices: at last a place they can pray without fear, a permanent home. Freedom. It's a promise of freedom that will have devastating consequences for Hanne and Thea, but, on that long and brutal journey, their bond proves too strong for even nature to break . . . From the bestselling author of Burial Rites and The Good People, Devotion is a stunning story of girlhood and friendship, faith and suspicion, and the impossible lengths we go to for the ones we love. 'Exquisite . . . it's taken root in my heart' – Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Mercies 'So beautiful and so raw . . . Impossibly good' – Evie Wyld, author of The Bass Rock

DEVOTION FOR MOTION Book

DEVOTION FOR MOTION


  • Author : J Terpstra
  • Publisher : J TERPSTRA
  • Release Date : 2022-08-08
  • Genre: Religion
  • Pages : 63
  • ISBN 10 : 978186723xxxx

DOWNLOAD BOOK
DEVOTION FOR MOTION Excerpt :

Fourteen Bible Devotions in a conversational style, expounding biblical principles from the Old and New Testaments. Geared to spur the Christian Pilgrim to action, these devotions glean inspiration from numerous passages and the lives of some of the best known men and women hero’s of the holy scripture. These devotions are perfect for: personal use; bible camps; midweek bible studies; revival meetings; bible in universities; after-college bible clubs; small group meetings and retreats. Church leaders can use these devotions to equip, entertain and encourage members of their congregation to devote themselves to motion in the Lord’s service. You need this motivational book on the timeless themes of Revival, Evangelism and Assurance. CONTENTS Series Three JOSEPH DREAMED A DREAM THE GOOD SHEPHERD STAND, STRENGTHEN, SPEAK RUTH’S RICH REWARD GO TO SOW PRAYER WARRIOR OR FEAR WORRIER? IDOLS TO IDLE DAVID’S DAILY DEVOTIONS IMPRESSION OR DEPRESSION? PROCRASTINATION AND PRECIPITATION PUT OFF; PUT ON SETTLED OR SOJOURNING? JERRY IN JEOPARDY FACE THE RACE http://www.johanterpstra.weebly.com

Devotion to the Sacred Heart Book

Devotion to the Sacred Heart


  • Author : Mary Frances Lester
  • Publisher : TAN Books
  • Release Date : 2012-12-07
  • Genre: Religion
  • Pages : 80
  • ISBN 10 : 9781505103670

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Devotion to the Sacred Heart Excerpt :

Devotion to the Sacred Heart is a powerful little booklet filled with many of the treasures to be found in the veneration of the Sacred Heart of Jesus. Besides containing an explanation of the symbolism found within the Image of the Sacred Heart, it also includes explanations of the 9 First Fridays devotion, known as The Great Promise, the miraculous cure of St. Gemma Galgani as well as many profound exhortations to offer reparation to the Sacred Heart. Authoritative and moving, Our Lord instituted this devotion Himself, saying: " I set neither limit nore measure to My gifts of grace for those who seek them in My heart."

Addiction and Devotion in Early Modern England Book

Addiction and Devotion in Early Modern England


  • Author : Rebecca Lemon
  • Publisher : University of Pennsylvania Press
  • Release Date : 2018-02-02
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages : 280
  • ISBN 10 : 9780812294811

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Addiction and Devotion in Early Modern England Excerpt :

Rebecca Lemon illuminates a previously-buried conception of addiction, as a form of devotion at once laudable, difficult, and extraordinary, that has been concealed by the persistent modern link of addiction to pathology. Surveying sixteenth-century invocations, she reveals how early moderns might consider themselves addicted to study, friendship, love, or God. However, she also uncovers their understanding of addiction as a form of compulsion that resonates with modern scientific definitions. Specifically, early modern medical tracts, legal rulings, and religious polemic stressed the dangers of addiction to alcohol in terms of disease, compulsion, and enslavement. Yet the relationship between these two understandings of addiction was not simply oppositional, for what unites these discourses is a shared emphasis on addiction as the overthrow of the will. Etymologically, "addiction" is a verbal contract or a pledge, and even as sixteenth-century audiences actively embraced addiction to God and love, writers warned against commitment to improper forms of addiction, and the term became increasingly associated with disease and tyranny. Examining canonical texts including Doctor Faustus, Twelfth Night, Henry IV, and Othello alongside theological, medical, imaginative, and legal writings, Lemon traces the variety of early modern addictive attachments. Although contemporary notions of addiction seem to bear little resemblance to its initial meanings, Lemon argues that the early modern period's understanding of addiction is relevant to our modern conceptions of, and debates about, the phenomenon.

Carving Devotion in the Jain Caves at Ellora Book

Carving Devotion in the Jain Caves at Ellora


  • Author : Lisa Owen
  • Publisher : BRILL
  • Release Date : 2012-04-03
  • Genre: Art
  • Pages : 303
  • ISBN 10 : 9789004206304

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Carving Devotion in the Jain Caves at Ellora Excerpt :

Drawing on art historical, epigraphical, and textual evidence, this book is the first full-scale reconstruction of medieval Jain activities at Ellora. It not only highlights the understudied Jain caves, but examines them in concert with Ellora's Hindu and Buddhist monuments.