Girl Made of Stars
Score: 4.5
From 6 Ratings

Girl Made of Stars


  • Author : Ashley Herring Blake
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release Date : 2018-05-15
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 304
  • ISBN 10 : 9781328476692


Girl Made of Stars Book Description :

For readers of Girl in Pieces and The Way I Used to Be comes an emotionally gripping story about facing hard truths in the aftermath of sexual assault. Mara and Owen are as close as twins can get, so when Mara’s friend Hannah accuses Owen of rape, Mara doesn't know what to think. Can her brother really be guilty of such a violent act? Torn between her family and her sense of right and wrong, Mara feels lost, and it doesn’t help that things are strained with her ex-girlfriend, Charlie. As Mara, Hannah, and Charlie come together in the aftermath of this terrible crime, Mara must face a trauma from her own past and decide where Charlie fits into her future. With sensitivity and openness, this timely novel confronts the difficult questions surrounding consent, victim blaming, and sexual assault.

Girl Made of Stars
Score: 4
From 5 Ratings

Girl Made of Stars


  • Author : Ashley Herring Blake
  • Publisher : HMH Books For Young Readers
  • Release Date : 2019-10-29
  • Genre:
  • Pages : 304
  • ISBN 10 : 0358108225


Girl Made of Stars Book Description :

Girl Made of Stars is a timely, emotionally gripping story about facing hard truths of consent and victim blaming in the aftermath of sexual assault, while shining a light on the story of a survivor with sensitivity and hope. For fans of Girl in Pieces and The Way I Used to Be.

Fireworks

Fireworks


  • Author : Katie Cotugno
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2017-04-11
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062418296


Fireworks Book Description :

From the New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days and How to Love comes a stunning new contemporary novel—all about boy bands, girl bands, best friends, and first love—perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson. It was always meant to be Olivia. She’s the talented one, the one who’s been training to be a star her whole life. Her best friend, Dana, is the levelheaded one, always on the sidelines, cheering Olivia on. But everything changes when Dana tags along with Olivia to Orlando for the weekend, where superproducer Guy Monroe is holding auditions for a new singing group, and Dana is discovered too. Dana, who’s never sung more than Olivia’s backup. Dana, who wasn’t even looking for fame. Next thing she knows, she and Olivia are training to be pop stars, and Dana is falling for Alex, the earnest, endlessly talented boy who’s destined to be the next big thing. It should be a dream come true, but as the days of grueling practice and constant competition take their toll, things between Olivia and Dana start to shift . . . and there’s only room at the top for one girl. For Olivia, it’s her chance at her dream. For Dana, it’s a chance to escape a future that seems to be closing in on her. And for these lifelong best friends, it’s the adventure of a lifetime—if they can make it through. Set in evocative 1990s Orlando, Fireworks brings to life the complexity of friendship, the excitement of first love, and the feeling of being on the verge of greatness.

Suffer Love
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

Suffer Love


  • Author : Ashley Herring Blake
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release Date : 2016-05-03
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 10 : 9780544596917


Suffer Love Book Description :

Sam Bennett falls for Hadley St. Clair before he knows her last name. When Sam finds out she is that St. Clair, daughter of the man who destroyed Sam’s family, he has a choice: follow his heart or tell the truth about the scandal that links their families. Funny and passionate, Suffer Love is a story about first love, family dysfunction, and the fickle hand of fate.

The Girl of Ink   Stars
Score: 4
From 110 Ratings

The Girl of Ink Stars


  • Author : Kiran Millwood Hargrave
  • Publisher : Chicken House
  • Release Date : 2016-05-05
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 288
  • ISBN 10 : 9781910655580


The Girl of Ink Stars Book Description :

When Isabella's friend disappears, she volunteers to guide the search party. As a mapmaker's daughter, she's equipped with elaborate ink maps and knowledge of the stars, eager to navigate the island's forgotten heart. But beneath the mountains a legendary fire demon awakens, and her journey is fraught with danger ...

The Girl and the Stars
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Girl and the Stars


  • Author : Mark Lawrence
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2020-04-21
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 384
  • ISBN 10 : 9781984806000


The Girl and the Stars Book Description :

A stunning new epic fantasy series following a young outcast who must fight with everything she has to survive, set in the same world as Red Sister. In the ice, east of the Black Rock, there is a hole into which broken children are thrown. Yaz’s people call it the Pit of the Missing and now it is drawing her in as she has always known it would. To resist the cold, to endure the months of night when even the air itself begins to freeze, requires a special breed. Variation is dangerous, difference is fatal. And Yaz is not the same. Yaz’s difference tears her from the only life she’s ever known, away from her family, from the boy she thought she would spend her days with, and has to carve out a new path for herself in a world whose existence she never suspected. A world full of difference and mystery and danger. Yaz learns that Abeth is older and stranger than she had ever imagined. She learns that her weaknesses are another kind of strength and that the cruel arithmetic of survival that has always governed her people can be challenged.

The Girl Who Sailed the Stars

The Girl Who Sailed the Stars


  • Author : Matilda Woods
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2019-06-25
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 270
  • ISBN 10 : 9780525515258


The Girl Who Sailed the Stars Book Description :

Adventure, friendship, and magical realism come together in this heartwarming, whimsical story. Perfect for fans of A Snicker of Magic and The Penderwicks. When Oona Britt was born in the magical town of Nordlor, where all of the homes are built from wrecked ships, her parents never expected her to be a girl. Having listened to a faulty prediction from a washed-up soothsayer, they were promised a "bold and brave son," so as the youngest of seven sisters, Oona's birth became a disappointment -- especially to her sea captain father, who doesn't believe there's a place for girls aboard ships. But Oona is different from the rest of her family. She longs for adventure and knowledge. So she steals aboard her father's ship just as he's about to set sail for his annual winter whale hunt, and suddenly finds herself in the midst of a grand adventure! The ship has its own sea cat, Barnacles, and a navigator named Haroyld, who show Oona how to follow the stars. But for all that, Oona's father is furious. Can she prove to him that she's worth his love and pride, even though she's not the bold and brave son he was promised? This follow-up to The Boy, the Bird & the Coffin Maker carries just as much heart and charm as Matilda Woods's first novel. The characters, story, and illustrations will dazzle readers. Praise for The Girl Who Sailed the Stars: * "Woods' intoxicating mix of whimsical details and taut adventure will keep [readers] enrapt." --Booklist, starred review "A richly imaginative fantasy that brings to mind Joan Aiken's "Wolves Chronicles" with a dash of Roald Dahl . . . Strong world-building joins lyrical prose and a fine leavening of humor, adventure, and magic, to make a winning combination." --SLJ Praise for The Boy, the Bird & the Coffin Maker: * "Woods has penned a gentle fable, one rich in hope that promotes the strength of kindness. Her magical realism nods to the like of Isabel Allende and Gabriel García Márquez, perfectly tailoring the genre for a middle-gra

The Girl Who Read the Stars

The Girl Who Read the Stars


  • Author : Skylar Dorset
  • Publisher : Sourcebooks, Inc.
  • Release Date : 2014-11-04
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 160
  • ISBN 10 : 9781492603931


The Girl Who Read the Stars Book Description :

"Romantic, suspenseful and witty all at once--ALICE IN WONDERLAND meets NEVERWHERE."--Claudia Gray, New York Times bestselling author of the Evernight series on The Girl Who Never WasSet after Skylar Dorset's debut The Girl Who Never Was and before the thrilling conclusion to her Otherworld duology, The Boy With the Hidden Name, this novella is told from the perspective of Merrow, the Fay of the Summer Equinox. Merrow could tell is was going to be a good school year because Jupiter was moving into her constellation. Merrow read the stars...well, sometimes she got a feeling anyway. The stars were always dancing--they were difficult to understand. And then there was Trow. He was a new boy at school and Merrow got a feeling... Which is weird because she's never minded being on her own before. (She wasn't exactly popular.) But there was something about Trow. And a prophecy and fate and danger and love--if only the stars would hold still.

How to Make a Wish
Score: 5
From 2 Ratings

How to Make a Wish


  • Author : Ashley Herring Blake
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release Date : 2017-05-02
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 10 : 9781328698957


How to Make a Wish Book Description :

Grace, tough and wise, has nearly given up on wishes, thanks to a childhood spent with her unpredictable, larger-than-life mother. But this summer, Grace meets Eva, a girl who believes in dreams, despite her own difficult circumstances. One fateful evening, Eva climbs through a window in Grace’s room, setting off a chain of stolen nights on the beach. When Eva tells Grace that she likes girls, Grace’s world opens up and she begins to believe in happiness again. How to Make a Wish is an emotionally charged portrait of a mother and daughter’s relationship and a heartfelt story about two girls who find each other at the exact right time.