How to Read a Book
Score: 4
From 75 Ratings

How to Read a Book


  • Author : Mortimer J. Adler
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2011-05-10
  • Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Pages : 426
  • ISBN 10 : 1439144834


How to Read a Book Book Description :

With half a million copies in print, How to Read a Book is the best and most successful guide to reading comprehension for the general reader, completely rewritten and updated with new material. A CNN Book of the Week: “Explains not just why we should read books, but how we should read them. It's masterfully done.” –Farheed Zakaria Originally published in 1940, this book is a rare phenomenon, a living classic that introduces and elucidates the various levels of reading and how to achieve them—from elementary reading, through systematic skimming and inspectional reading, to speed reading. Readers will learn when and how to “judge a book by its cover,” and also how to X-ray it, read critically, and extract the author’s message from the text. Also included is instruction in the different techniques that work best for reading particular genres, such as practical books, imaginative literature, plays, poetry, history, science and mathematics, philosophy and social science works. Finally, the authors offer a recommended reading list and supply reading tests you can use measure your own progress in reading skills, comprehension, and speed.

I Can Read it

I Can Read it


  • Author : John Holzmann
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 1999
  • Genre:
  • Pages : 93
  • ISBN 10 : OCLC:732820497


I Can Read it Book Description :

Book two of controlled-vocabulary stories, with real plot, action, and humor, engage your child's attention and interest. Reading lessons move your child through a natural progression of phonetic and spelling patterns. One volume of word lists shows spelling patterns.-Amazon.

The Happiness Project  Revised Edition
Score: 3
From 3,770 Ratings

The Happiness Project Revised Edition


  • Author : Gretchen Rubin
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2015-12-29
  • Genre: Self-Help
  • Pages : 368
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062474247


The Happiness Project Revised Edition Book Description :

“This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

Read with Pride

Read with Pride


  • Author : Lucy Powrie
  • Publisher : Hachette Children's
  • Release Date : 2020-05-28
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 400
  • ISBN 10 : 9781444949261


Read with Pride Book Description :

The much anticipated second book in The Paper & Hearts Society series by Booktuber Lucy Powrie. Will you be the next recruit for The Paper & Hearts Society book club? For fans of Holly Smale and Super Awkward. Olivia Santos is excited for her last year at secondary school. But when a parent complains about LGBTQ+ content in one of the books, the library implements a new policy for withdrawing books. Olivia is distraught - she's demisexual and knows how important it is for all readers to see themselves represented. Luckily, she's the mastermind behind The Paper & Hearts Society book club, and she knows exactly what to do: start a new club, find ways of evading the system, and change the policy for good! With two book clubs to run, exams to prepare for, and a girlfriend, just how long will it be before Olivia burns out? After all, creating a book club and trying to get the #ReadWithPride hashtag to get noticed is going to take a lot of energy. Sometimes, when you're in too deep, it's up to your friends to look out for you ...

How to Talk About Books You Haven t Read
Score: 3
From 31 Ratings

How to Talk About Books You Haven t Read


  • Author : Pierre Bayard
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release Date : 2010-08-10
  • Genre: Literary Collections
  • Pages : 208
  • ISBN 10 : 9781596917149


How to Talk About Books You Haven t Read Book Description :

In this delightfully witty, provocative book, literature professor and psychoanalyst Pierre Bayard argues that not having read a book need not be an impediment to having an interesting conversation about it. (In fact, he says, in certain situations reading the book is the worst thing you could do.) Using examples from such writers as Graham Greene, Oscar Wilde, Montaigne, and Umberto Eco, he describes the varieties of "non-reading"-from books that you've never heard of to books that you've read and forgotten-and offers advice on how to turn a sticky social situation into an occasion for creative brilliance. Practical, funny, and thought-provoking, How to Talk About Books You Haven't Read-which became a favorite of readers everywhere in the hardcover edition-is in the end a love letter to books, offering a whole new perspective on how we read and absorb them.

Design for Hackers

Design for Hackers


  • Author : David Kadavy
  • Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
  • Release Date : 2011-08-08
  • Genre: Computers
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 10 : 9781119999010


Design for Hackers Book Description :

Discover the techniques behind beautiful design by deconstructing designs to understand them The term 'hacker' has been redefined to consist of anyone who has an insatiable curiosity as to how things work—and how they can try to make them better. This book is aimed at hackers of all skill levels and explains the classical principles and techniques behind beautiful designs by deconstructing those designs in order to understand what makes them so remarkable. Author and designer David Kadavy provides you with the framework for understanding good design and places a special emphasis on interactive mediums. You'll explore color theory, the role of proportion and geometry in design, and the relationship between medium and form. Packed with unique reverse engineering design examples, this book inspires and encourages you to discover and create new beauty in a variety of formats. Breaks down and studies the classical principles and techniques behind the creation of beautiful design Illustrates cultural and contextual considerations in communicating to a specific audience Discusses why design is important, the purpose of design, the various constraints of design, and how today's fonts are designed with the screen in mind Dissects the elements of color, size, scale, proportion, medium, and form Features a unique range of examples, including the graffiti in the ancient city of Pompeii, the lack of the color black in Monet's art, the style and sleekness of the iPhone, and more By the end of this book, you'll be able to apply the featured design principles to your own web designs, mobile apps, or other digital work.