Nudge
Score: 3
From 2 Ratings

Nudge


  • Author : Richard H. Thaler
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2009-02-24
  • Genre: Business & Economics
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 9781101655092


Nudge Book Description :

From the winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics, Richard H. Thaler, and Cass R. Sunstein: a revelatory look at how we make decisions—for fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking, Fast and Slow * More than 1.5 million copies sold * New York Times bestseller * Named a Best Book of the Year by The Economist and the Financial Times Every day we make choices—about what to buy or eat, about financial investments or our children’s health and education, even about the causes we champion or the planet itself. Unfortunately, we often choose poorly. Nudge is about how we make these choices and how we can make better ones. Using dozens of eye-opening examples and drawing on decades of behavioral science research, Nobel Prize winner Richard H. Thaler and Harvard Law School professor Cass R. Sunstein show that no choice is ever presented to us in a neutral way, and that we are all susceptible to biases that can lead us to make bad decisions. But by knowing how people think, we can use sensible “choice architecture” to nudge people toward the best decisions for ourselves, our families, and our society, without restricting our freedom of choice.

Nudge
Score: 3
From 1,405 Ratings

Nudge


  • Author : Richard H. Thaler
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2009
  • Genre: Psychology
  • Pages : 305
  • ISBN 10 : 0141040017


Nudge Book Description :

Every day we make decisions: about the things that we buy or the meals we eat; about the investments we make or our children's health and education; even the causes that we champion or the planet itself. Unfortunately, we often choose poorly. We are all susceptible to biases that can lead us to make bad decisions that make us poorer, less healthy and less happy. And, as Thaler and Sunstein show, no choice is ever presented to us in a neutral way. By knowing how people think, we can make it easier for them to choose what is best for them, their families and society. Using dozens of eye-opening examples the authors demonstrate how to nudge us in the right directions, without restricting our freedom of choice. Nudge offers a unique new way of looking at the world for individuals and governments alike.This is one of the most engaging, provocative and important books you will ever read.

Nudge
Score: 3
From 1,402 Ratings

Nudge


  • Author : Richard H. Thaler
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2008
  • Genre: Business & Economics
  • Pages : 293
  • ISBN 10 : 0300122233


Nudge Book Description :

Offering a groundbreaking study of the application of the science of choice, a guide that uses colorful examples from all aspects of life demonstrates how it is possible to design environments that make it more likely for us to act in our own interests.

Give Yourself a Nudge

Give Yourself a Nudge


  • Author : Ralph L. Keeney
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release Date : 2020-04-23
  • Genre: Business & Economics
  • Pages : 274
  • ISBN 10 : 9781108715621


Give Yourself a Nudge Book Description :

Enhancing your decision-making skills to make smarter decisions is the best way you can purposefully improve your life.

Trusting Nudges

Trusting Nudges


  • Author : Cass R. Sunstein
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release Date : 2019-01-03
  • Genre: Business & Economics
  • Pages : 146
  • ISBN 10 : 9780429837326


Trusting Nudges Book Description :

Many "nudges" aim to make life simpler, safer, or easier for people to navigate, but what do members of the public really think about these policies? Drawing on surveys from numerous nations around the world, Sunstein and Reisch explore whether citizens approve of nudge policies. Their most important finding is simple and striking. In diverse countries, both democratic and nondemocratic, strong majorities approve of nudges designed to promote health, safety, and environmental protection—and their approval cuts across political divisions. In recent years, many governments have implemented behaviorally informed policies, focusing on nudges—understood as interventions that preserve freedom of choice, but that also steer people in certain directions. In some circles, nudges have become controversial, with questions raised about whether they amount to forms of manipulation. This fascinating book carefully considers these criticisms and answers important questions. What do citizens actually think about behaviorally informed policies? Do citizens have identifiable principles in mind when they approve or disapprove of the policies? Do citizens of different nations agree with each other? From the answers to these questions, the authors identify six principles of legitimacy—a "bill of rights" for nudging that build on strong public support for nudging policies around the world, while also recognizing what citizens disapprove of. Their bill of rights is designed to capture citizens’ central concerns, reflecting widespread commitments to freedom and welfare that transcend national boundaries.

Nudge
Score: 3
From 5 Ratings

Nudge


  • Author : Leonard Sweet
  • Publisher : David C Cook
  • Release Date : 2010-08-01
  • Genre: Religion
  • Pages : 336
  • ISBN 10 : 0781404932


Nudge Book Description :

Evangelism is about reaching out to others. Really? You think? Brace yourself. In Nudge, author Leonard Sweet sets out to revolutionize our understanding of evangelism. He defines evangelism as “nudge” – awakening each other to the God who is already there. Sweet’s revolution promises to affect your encounters with others, as well as shaking the very roots of your own faith. So brace yourself.

Nudge Theory in Action

Nudge Theory in Action


  • Author : Sherzod Abdukadirov
  • Publisher : Springer
  • Release Date : 2016-09-28
  • Genre: Business & Economics
  • Pages : 351
  • ISBN 10 : 9783319313191


Nudge Theory in Action Book Description :

This collection challenges the popular but abstract concept of nudging, demonstrating the real-world application of behavioral economics in policy-making and technology. Groundbreaking and practical, it considers the existing political incentives and regulatory institutions that shape the environment in which behavioral policy-making occurs, as well as alternatives to government nudges already provided by the market. The contributions discuss the use of regulations and technology to help consumers overcome their behavioral biases and make better choices, considering the ethical questions of government and market nudges and the uncertainty inherent in designing effective nudges. Four case studies - on weight loss, energy efficiency, consumer finance, and health care - put the discussion of the efficiency of nudges into concrete, recognizable terms. A must-read for researchers studying the public policy applications of behavioral economics, this book will also appeal to practicing lawmakers and regulators.

Nudge  Nudge  Think  Think

Nudge Nudge Think Think


  • Author : Peter John
  • Publisher : A&C Black
  • Release Date : 2013-05-02
  • Genre: Political Science
  • Pages : 208
  • ISBN 10 : 9781780935553


Nudge Nudge Think Think Book Description :

How can governments persuade citizens to act in socially beneficial ways? This successor to Thaler and Sunstein's cult book Nudge argues that an alternative approach needs to be considered - a 'think' strategy, in which citizens deliberate their own priorities as part of a process of civic renewal.

Nudge and the Law

Nudge and the Law


  • Author : Alberto Alemanno
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Release Date : 2015-09-24
  • Genre: Law
  • Pages : 336
  • ISBN 10 : 9781782259497


Nudge and the Law Book Description :

Behavioural sciences help refine our understanding of human decision-making. Their insights are immensely relevant for policy-making since public intervention works much better when it targets real people rather than imaginary beings assumed to be perfectly rational. Increasingly, governments around the world are keen to rely on those insights for reshaping public interventions in a wide range of policy areas such as energy, health, financial services and data protection. When policy-making meets behavioural sciences, effective and low-cost regulations can emerge in the form of default rules, smart disclosure and simplification requirements. While behaviourally-informed intervention has a huge potential for policymaking, it also attracts legitimacy and practicability concerns. Nudge and the Law takes a European perspective on those issues and explores the legal implications of the emergent phenomenon of behavioural regulation by focusing on the challenges and opportunities it may offer to EU policy-making and beyond.

Nudge Theory in Action

Nudge Theory in Action


  • Author : Sherzod Abdukadirov
  • Publisher : Springer
  • Release Date : 2016-09-28
  • Genre: Business & Economics
  • Pages : 351
  • ISBN 10 : 9783319313191


Nudge Theory in Action Book Description :

This collection challenges the popular but abstract concept of nudging, demonstrating the real-world application of behavioral economics in policy-making and technology. Groundbreaking and practical, it considers the existing political incentives and regulatory institutions that shape the environment in which behavioral policy-making occurs, as well as alternatives to government nudges already provided by the market. The contributions discuss the use of regulations and technology to help consumers overcome their behavioral biases and make better choices, considering the ethical questions of government and market nudges and the uncertainty inherent in designing effective nudges. Four case studies - on weight loss, energy efficiency, consumer finance, and health care - put the discussion of the efficiency of nudges into concrete, recognizable terms. A must-read for researchers studying the public policy applications of behavioral economics, this book will also appeal to practicing lawmakers and regulators.