Quicklet on Neil Shubin s Your Inner Fish

Quicklet on Neil Shubin s Your Inner Fish


  • Author : Nicole Cipri
  • Publisher : Hyperink Inc
  • Release Date : 2012-04-28
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages : 38
  • ISBN 10 : 9781614644613


Quicklet on Neil Shubin s Your Inner Fish Book Description :

ABOUT THE BOOK In Your Inner Fish, Shubin attempts to explore the intersections of evolutionary biology and modern human anatomy. On his faculty page on the University of Chicago website, Neil Shubin writes: The philosophy that underlies all of my empirical work is derived from the conviction that progress in the study of evolutionary biology results from linking research across diverse temporal, phylogenetic, and structural scales. Writing in a friendly, accessible way, Shubin explains the various historical records that are encoded in the human body, from the structures of our eyes to the sequencing of our genes. MEET THE AUTHOR Nicole Cipri is a restless wanderer and passionate writer. A graduate of the Evergreen State School in Olympia, WA, Nicole has since written about such varied topics as modern urban farming, the role of glitterbombing as political theater, and the economic impacts of natural disasters. EXCERPT FROM THE BOOK The book begins with Shubins first encounters with his own inner fish. He tells us about his expeditions to the far north in Canada, to Ellesmere Island, where he and his team of paleontologists and fossil finders scoured the rocks to try and find a transitional fossil from the time that the first animals were venturing onto land. The discovery of Tiktaalik Roseae is inarguably a transitional species, an intermediate between fish and the first land-walking tetrapods. In this and in other species, scientists have been able to trace the twisting path of our own anatomys evolution. In Tiktaalik, we are able to see the beginning of our limbs, from the muscles in our shoulders and chest to the bones of our wrists. Shubin traces our connections to animals past and present. Each chapter is devoted to a different part of the body: our hands, facial nerves, teeth inner ear, eyes, brain, olfactory sense. He gives us personal anecdotes as well. He describes his career, from how he first learned to find fossils, to his teams accidental uncovering o

Your Inner Fish
Score: 2.5
From 21 Ratings

Your Inner Fish


  • Author : Neil Shubin
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2009
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages : 237
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307277459


Your Inner Fish Book Description :

A fascinating chronicle of the evolution of humankind traces the genetic history of the organs of the human body, offering a revealing correlation between the distant past and present-day human anatomy and physiology, behavior, illness, and DNA. Reprint. 75,000 first printing.

The Universe Within

The Universe Within


  • Author : Neil Shubin
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2013-01-08
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages : 240
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307907868


The Universe Within Book Description :

From one of our finest and most popular science writers, the best-selling author of Your Inner Fish, comes the answer to a scientific mystery story as big as the world itself: How have astronomical events that took place millions of years ago created the unique qualities of the human species? In his last book, Neil Shubin delved into the amazing connections between human anatomy—our hands, our jaws—and the structures in the fish that first took over land 375 million years ago. Now, with his trademark clarity and exuberance, he takes an even more expansive approach to the question of why we are the way we are. Starting once again with fossils, Shubin turns his gaze skyward. He shows how the entirety of the universe's 14-billion-year history can be seen in our bodies. From our very molecular composition (a result of stellar events at the origin of our solar system), he makes clear, through the working of our eyes, how the evolution of the cosmos has had profound effects on the development of human life on earth. From the Hardcover edition.

Your Inner Fish
Score: 3.5
From 36 Ratings

Your Inner Fish


  • Author : Neil Shubin
  • Publisher : Penguin UK
  • Release Date : 2009-01-29
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages : 256
  • ISBN 10 : 9780141027586


Your Inner Fish Book Description :

Your Inner Fish tells the extraordinary history of the human body and gives answers to some of the questions that only evolution can. Why do we look the way we do? Why are we able to do all the different things we do? And, finally, why do we fall ill in the way that we do? Neil Shubin draws on the latest genetic research and his huge experience as an expeditionary paleontologist to show the incredible impact the 3.5 billion year history of life has had on our bodies. He takes readers on a fascinating, unexpected journey and allows us to discover the deep connection to nature in our own bodies.

The Story of the Human Body
Score: 4.5
From 7 Ratings

The Story of the Human Body


  • Author : Daniel Lieberman
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2014
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages : 460
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307741806


The Story of the Human Body Book Description :

In this book the author, a Harvard evolutionary biologist presents an account of how the human body has evolved over millions of years, examining how an increasing disparity between the needs of Stone Age bodies and the realities of the modern world are fueling a paradox of greater longevity and chronic disease. It illuminates the major transformations that contributed key adaptations to the body: the rise of bipedalism; the shift to a non-fruit-based diet; the advent of hunting and gathering, leading to our superlative endurance athleticism; the development of a very large brain; and the incipience of cultural proficiencies. The author also elucidates how cultural evolution differs from biological evolution, and how our bodies were further transformed during the Agricultural and Industrial Revolutions. While these ongoing changes have brought about many benefits, they have also created conditions to which our bodies are not entirely adapted, the author argues, resulting in the growing incidence of obesity and new but avoidable diseases, such as type 2 diabetes. The author proposes that many of these chronic illnesses persist and in some cases are intensifying because of 'dysevolution,' a pernicious dynamic whereby only the symptoms rather than the causes of these maladies are treated. And finally, he advocates the use of evolutionary information to help nudge, push, and sometimes even compel us to create a more salubrious environment. -- From publisher's web site.

Zoobiquity
Score: 4.5
From 6 Ratings

Zoobiquity


  • Author : Dr. Barbara N. Horowitz
  • Publisher : Doubleday Canada
  • Release Date : 2012-06-12
  • Genre: Medical
  • Pages : 288
  • ISBN 10 : 9780385670616


Zoobiquity Book Description :

Engaging science writing that bravely approaches a new frontier in medical science and offers a whole new way of looking at the deep kinship between animals and human beings. Zoobiquity: a species-spanning approach to medicine bringing doctors and veterinarians together to improve the health of all species and their habitats. In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, this is a remarkable narrative science book arguing that animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients. Through case studies of various species--human and animal kind alike--the authors reveal that a cross-species approach to medicine makes us not only better able to treat psychological and medical conditions but helps us understand our deep connection to other species with whom we share much more than just a planet. This revelatory book reaches across many disciplines--evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine and zoology--providing fascinating insights into the connection between animals and humans and what animals can teach us about the human body and mind.

Some Assembly Required
Score: 3.5
From 2 Ratings

Some Assembly Required


  • Author : Neil Shubin
  • Publisher : Pantheon
  • Release Date : 2020-03-17
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages : 288
  • ISBN 10 : 9781101871348


Some Assembly Required Book Description :

The author of the best-selling Your Inner Fish gives us a lively and accessible account of the great transformations in the history of life on Earth--a new view of the evolution of human and animal life that explains how the incredible diversity of life on our planet came to be. Over billions of years, ancient fish evolved to walk on land, reptiles transformed into birds that fly, and apelike primates evolved into humans that walk on two legs, talk, and write. For more than a century, paleontologists have traveled the globe to find fossils that show how such changes have happened. We have now arrived at a remarkable moment—prehistoric fossils coupled with new DNA technology have given us the tools to answer some of the basic questions of our existence: How do big changes in evolution happen? Is our presence on Earth the product of mere chance? This new science reveals a multibillion-year evolutionary history filled with twists and turns, trial and error, accident and invention. In Some Assembly Required, Neil Shubin takes readers on a journey of discovery spanning centuries, as explorers and scientists seek to understand the origins of life's immense diversity.

The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat  And Other Clinical Tales
Score: 3.5
From 3,416 Ratings

The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat And Other Clinical Tales


  • Author : Oliver Sacks
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 1998
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages : 243
  • ISBN 10 : 9780684853949


The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat And Other Clinical Tales Book Description :

Presents a series of stories about men and women who, representing both medical and literary oddities, raise fundamental questions about the nature of reality

A Little History of Science
Score: 3.5
From 3 Ratings

A Little History of Science


  • Author : William Bynum
  • Publisher : Yale University Press
  • Release Date : 2012-10-15
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages : 288
  • ISBN 10 : 9780300189421


A Little History of Science Book Description :

Science is fantastic. It tells us about the infinite reaches of space, the tiniest living organism, the human body, the history of Earth. People have always been doing science because they have always wanted to make sense of the world and harness its power. From ancient Greek philosophers through Einstein and Watson and Crick to the computer-assisted scientists of today, men and women have wondered, examined, experimented, calculated, and sometimes made discoveries so earthshaking that people understood the world—or themselves—in an entirely new way. This inviting book tells a great adventure story: the history of science. It takes readers to the stars through the telescope, as the sun replaces the earth at the center of our universe. It delves beneath the surface of the planet, charts the evolution of chemistry's periodic table, introduces the physics that explain electricity, gravity, and the structure of atoms. It recounts the scientific quest that revealed the DNA molecule and opened unimagined new vistas for exploration. Emphasizing surprising and personal stories of scientists both famous and unsung, A Little History of Science traces the march of science through the centuries. The book opens a window on the exciting and unpredictable nature of scientific activity and describes the uproar that may ensue when scientific findings challenge established ideas. With delightful illustrations and a warm, accessible style, this is a volume for young and old to treasure together.