The Cay Book
Score: 4.5
From 55 Ratings

The Cay


  • Author : Theodore Taylor
  • Publisher : Laurel Leaf
  • Release Date : 2011-09-28
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 144
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307800145

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Cay Excerpt :

For fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor’s classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay. Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Curaçao. War has always been a game to him, and he’s eager to glimpse it firsthand–until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed. When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only companion is an old West Indian, Timothy. Phillip remembers his mother’s warning about black people: “They are different, and they live differently.” But by the time the castaways arrive on a small island, Phillip’s head injury has made him blind and dependent on Timothy. “Mr. Taylor has provided an exciting story…The idea that all humanity would benefit from this special form of color blindness permeates the whole book…The result is a story with a high ethical purpose but no sermon.”—New York Times Book Review “A taut tightly compressed story of endurance and revelation…At once barbed and tender, tense and fragile—as Timothy would say, ‘outrageous good.’”—Kirkus Reviews * “Fully realized setting…artful, unobtrusive use of dialect…the representation of a hauntingly deep love, the poignancy of which is rarely achieved in children’s literature.”—School Library Journal, Starred “Starkly dramatic, believable and compelling.”—Saturday Review “A tense and moving experience in reading.”—Publishers Weekly “Eloquently underscores the intrinsic brotherhood of man.”—Booklist "This is one of the best survival stories since Robinson Crusoe."—The Washington Star · A New York Times Best Book of the Year · A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year · A Horn Book Honor Book · An American Library Association Notable Book · A Publishers Weekly Children’s Book to Remember · A Child Study Association’s Pick of Children’s Books of the

Timothy of the Cay Book
Score: 3.5
From 6 Ratings

Timothy of the Cay


  • Author : Theodore Taylor
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Release Date : 2007
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 182
  • ISBN 10 : 015206320X

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Timothy of the Cay Excerpt :

Having survived being blinded and shipwrecked on a tiny Caribbean island with the old Black man Timothy, twelve-year-old Phillip is rescued, in the sequel to The Cay. An ALA Best Book for Young Adults. Reissue.

The Cay Book
Score: 5
From 3 Ratings

The Cay


  • Author : Gayle Cornelison
  • Publisher : Dramatic Publishing
  • Release Date : 1999
  • Genre: Black people
  • Pages : 52
  • ISBN 10 : 0871299569

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Cay Excerpt :

Now available in a paperback edition comes the award-winning story of two castaways who have much to learn from each other when the Germans invade the small island of Curacao during World War II. A "New York Times" Best Book of the Year. Copyright © Libri GmbH. All rights reserved.

The Cay Book
Score: 3.5
From 3 Ratings

The Cay


  • Author : Theodore Taylor
  • Publisher : Scholastic Inc.
  • Release Date : 1997-07
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages : 20
  • ISBN 10 : 0590366432

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Cay Excerpt :

Includes an author biography, chapter summaries, vocabulary builders, reproducibles, discussion questions, and cross-curricular activities for students of all learning styles for Taylors' novel, "The Cay"

Literature Circle Guide the Cay Book

Literature Circle Guide the Cay


  • Author : Theodore Taylor
  • Publisher : Scholastic Inc.
  • Release Date : 2002-07
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages : 36
  • ISBN 10 : 0439355354

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Literature Circle Guide the Cay Excerpt :

A guide to studying "The Cay" by Theodore Taylor, the story of an adolescent white boy who is befriended by an old black man after being blinded in an incident at sea; featuring an author biography, advice on setting up and managing literature circles, and reproducible activity sheets for group discussions and literature response journals.

The Cay Lit Link Gr  7 8 Book

The Cay Lit Link Gr 7 8


  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : On The Mark Press
  • Release Date : 2023-01-27
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages : null
  • ISBN 10 : 9781770722217

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Cay Lit Link Gr 7 8 Excerpt :

A Guide for Using The Cay in the Classroom Book

A Guide for Using The Cay in the Classroom


  • Author : Philip Denny
  • Publisher : Teacher Created Resources
  • Release Date : 1995-03
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages : 50
  • ISBN 10 : 9781557344472

DOWNLOAD BOOK
A Guide for Using The Cay in the Classroom Excerpt :

A literature unit for use with "The Cay," featuring sample lesson plans, pre- and post-reading activities, a biographical sketch of the author, a book summary, vocabulary lists and activities, chapter study guides with quizzes and projects, book report and research ideas, and options for unit tests.

The Cay Book

The Cay


  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : BMI Educational Services
  • Release Date : 2011-03
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 132
  • ISBN 10 : 9781609336585

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Cay Excerpt :

The Cay  Theodore Taylor  Book

The Cay Theodore Taylor


  • Author : Lynda Allison
  • Publisher : Classroom Complete Press
  • Release Date : 2015-10-21
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages : 57
  • ISBN 10 : 9781771673990

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Cay Theodore Taylor Excerpt :

In this State Standards-aligned Literature Kit™, we divide the novel by chapters or sections and feature reading comprehension and vocabulary questions. In every chapter, we include Before You Read and After You Read questions. The Before You Read activities prepare students for reading by setting a purpose for reading. They stimulate background knowledge and experience, and guide students to make connections between what they know and what they will learn. The After You Read activities check students' comprehension and extend their learning. Students are asked to give thoughtful consideration of the text through creative and evaluative short-answer questions and journal prompts. Also included are writing tasks, graphic organizers, comprehension quiz, test prep, word search, and crossword to further develop students' critical thinking and writing skills, and analysis of the text. About the Novel: The Cay is a story about a man and a boy who get stranded on an island and struggle to survive with each other. 11-year-old Phillip Enright and his mother board a ship to Virginia in the hopes of escaping the German submarines that are surrounding the area around Curaçao. Along the way, the ship gets torpedoed by one such submarine. Phillip is blinded and stranded out to sea with an old African American man named Timothy and a cat named Stew Cat. The group find themselves on a tiny island, where they survive by fishing and collecting rain water. During their time, Timothy and Phillip struggle to work together, partly due to Phillip's racial prejudices. In the end, the two must learn to work together in the hopes of survival and eventual rescue. The Cay is a gripping story of survival and overcoming prejudices. All of our content is aligned to your State Standards and are written to Bloom's Taxonomy.

Frequency Study Guide The Cay by Theodore Taylor Book

Frequency Study Guide The Cay by Theodore Taylor


  • Author : Sophia Von Sawilski
  • Publisher : Lulu Press, Inc
  • Release Date : 2021-01-13
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages : null
  • ISBN 10 : 9781716231551

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Frequency Study Guide The Cay by Theodore Taylor Excerpt :

Including questions on both comprehension and inference leading up to several assignment questions designed to draw out an extended response from your student. Frequency Study Guide Theodore Taylor’s, The Cay is the equivalent of a Unit of Work about the Stages of the Sequence of Events in the novel, The Cay and is designed to be used in conjunction with the novel for a student to arrive at a deeper understanding and appreciation of Taylor’s celebrated novel, The Cay. Join in to explore the concepts within the themes of The Cay. Have fun developing communication skills such as reading and writing skills by reconstructing the language of the novel The Cay. The novel itself is aimed at years three to four but can also be used as English as a Second Language; language skill exploration and strengthening exercise.

Study Guide  The Cay Book

Study Guide The Cay


  • Author : BookCaps
  • Publisher : BookCaps Study Guides
  • Release Date : 2013-09-05
  • Genre: Reference
  • Pages : 65
  • ISBN 10 : 9781621075745

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Study Guide The Cay Excerpt :

The perfect companion to Theodore Taylor's, "The Cay," this study guide contains a chapter by chapter analysis of the book, a summary of the plot, and a guide to major characters and themes. BookCap Study Guides do not contain text from the actual book, and are not meant to be purchased as alternatives to reading the book. This study guide is an unofficial companion and not endorsed by the author or publisher of the book. We all need refreshers every now and then. Whether you are a student trying to cram for that big final, or someone just trying to understand a book more, BookCaps can help. We are a small, but growing company and are adding titles every month.

Ghost Ship on the Cay Book

Ghost Ship on the Cay


  • Author : Caitlind L. Alexander
  • Publisher : Learning Island
  • Release Date : 2015-01-03
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 20
  • ISBN 10 : 978186723xxxx

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Ghost Ship on the Cay Excerpt :

The ship came into the harbor, running full out in front of a storm. No one thought she’d make it, but she did. But then the town discovered that there was no one on board. She was called the Providence. It was a fitting name, for she brought Providence to our town, and much, much more to the widow Mabel Priory. Read this short, but creepy tale to find out what Mabel did with this ghostly ship. Ages 9 and up. LearningIsland.com believes in the value of children practicing reading for 15 minutes every day. Our 15-Minute Books give children lots of fun, exciting choices to read, from classic stories, to mysteries, to books of knowledge. Open the world of reading to a child by having them read for 15 minutes a day.

The Trouble with Tuck Book

The Trouble with Tuck


  • Author : Theodore Taylor
  • Publisher : Delacorte Books for Young Readers
  • Release Date : 1981
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 110
  • ISBN 10 : 0385177747

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Trouble with Tuck Excerpt :

A young girl trains her blind dog to follow and trust a seeing-eye companion dog.

The Big Cheat Book
Score: 4.5
From 3 Ratings

The Big Cheat


  • Author : David Cay Johnston
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2021-11-30
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages : 304
  • ISBN 10 : 9781982178031

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Big Cheat Excerpt :

Original lie -- Jobs mirage -- Charity doghouse -- Off the books -- Collecting tribute -- Don't ask, don't know -- Conflicts of interest -- Tax scam -- Polishing apple -- The Koch papers -- Wall scam -- Opportunity knocks -- Dangerous favors -- Expensive juice -- The shipping news -- Russian money man -- Promises, promises -- Family first -- After Trump.