The Drowned Girls

The Drowned Girls


  • Author : Loreth Anne White
  • Publisher : Montlake Romance
  • Release Date : 2017-06-20
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 524
  • ISBN 10 : 1503941213


The Drowned Girls Book Description :

Trying to break into the all-male homicide division, Detective Angie Pallorino works to solve the mystery of several mutilated, drowned women, which drives her to confront her troubled past and deal with feelings for her partner.

The Drowned Girl
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

The Drowned Girl


  • Author : Eve Alexandra
  • Publisher : Kent State University Press
  • Release Date : 2003
  • Genre: Poetry
  • Pages : 55
  • ISBN 10 : 0873387864


The Drowned Girl Book Description :

"Rare in any age is work which incorporates a passion for experience, a commitment to truth, an ability to plumb the irrational, and a fluency in poetic language and music which can work through all these tangled thickets, but Eve Alexandra does just that. . . . This is true poetry; it immediately takes its place as a participant in the vast historical voice which composes poetry, a voice which contains ten-thousand tones, but which takes nothing unto itself which doesn't resonate, as do the poems of The Drowned Girl, with authenticity and fervor."--C. K. Williams, Judge "One of the things I find compelling about Eve Alexandra's poems is that, while the narrator is seductive and beautiful, she is not pleasing. She does not offer comfort. She is not kind or solicitous. Like Ariel, who 'performs the tempest' for Prospero, Alexandra, too, is a tempest-ress: these are the storms and drownings of her own invention. Like Ariel's bedeviling and gorgeous tunes composed to tease the sorrowful, these are poems of the taunt and tease, the razor in the apple."--Lynn Emanuel "Something bright and reflective, something lucid and exacting glints at the center of this fleshy, original debut. Is it a needle? Is it a scalpel? Is it a scythe? Is it the switchblade a woman might carry in her purse? Eve Alexandra wields a tender, sharp honesty. The lines cut and dice, arc and glimmer in the light of her lyricism and intelligence. These poems will open you, make you bleed, make you wonder."--Terrance Hayes

Visits From the Drowned Girl
Score: 3.5
From 3 Ratings

Visits From the Drowned Girl


  • Author : Steven Sherrill
  • Publisher : Diversion Books
  • Release Date : 2014-06-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 246
  • ISBN 10 : 9781626813410


Visits From the Drowned Girl Book Description :

From the author of cult classic THE MINOTAUR TAKES A CIGARETTE BREAK comes a dark narrative that begs the question: at what point do we become responsible for the things that we see? Benny Poteat observes the world from above, working hundreds of feet in the air repairing tension lines. He's seen a lot of things from this vantage point, but nothing can compare to watching a girl die. She approaches the river that snakes far below him and walks purposefully into the rushing water, never to reappear. Startled at both what he’s witnessed and his inability to prevent it, what Benny does next will forever alter the course of his life: He does nothing. He gathers up the drowned girl’s belongings and doesn’t tell a soul what he saw. Instead, Benny visits the address on a business card he finds in the drowned girl’s bag and slowly insinuates himself into the life she once lived. But even as he immerses himself in her world, he wonders: What does it mean to watch someone die? And what can explain his strange attraction to the drowned girl? VISITS FROM THE DROWNED GIRL is an unforgettable tale about the seductive but ultimately pernicious nature of secrecy. As Benny struggles to figure out what to do and who to tell, his burden becomes unbearable, and the secrets he keeps threaten to pull him under.

The Drowned Girl  previously published as Only One Life

The Drowned Girl previously published as Only One Life


  • Author : Sara Blaedel
  • Publisher : Grand Central Publishing
  • Release Date : 2018-12-24
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 384
  • ISBN 10 : 9781538759844


The Drowned Girl previously published as Only One Life Book Description :

#1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLERDetective Louise Rick must race against the clock to stop a violent killer targeting immigrants in this disturbing and timely thriller, perfect for readers of Lisa Gardner, Tami Hoag, Tess Gerritsen, or Jo Nesbo. It's clearly no ordinary drowning. When a young girl is pulled from the watery depths, a piece of concrete tied around her waist and two mysterious circular patches on the back of her neck, Detective Louise Rick is immediately called out to Holbaek Fjord. Her name was Samra, and when the police learn that she was a member of Holbaek's sizeable Muslim immigrant community, they immediately assume it was an honor killing. Yet her mother insists Samra had done nothing dishonorable. Louise must navigate the complex web of family and community ties in the small town's tightly knit Muslim community as she hunts a killer . . . before he strikes again. Thriller master Sara Blaedel is in top form as Louise takes on what may be her most important-and most deadly-case yet.

A Drowned Maiden s Hair
Score: 4
From 33 Ratings

A Drowned Maiden s Hair


  • Author : Laura Amy Schlitz
  • Publisher : Candlewick Press
  • Release Date : 2010-03-02
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 400
  • ISBN 10 : 9780763652159


A Drowned Maiden s Hair Book Description :

"People throw the word 'classic' about a lot, but A Drowned Maiden's Hair genuinely deserves to become one." — Wall Street Journal Maud Flynn is known at the orphanage for her impertinence, so when the charming Miss Hyacinth and her sister choose Maud to take home with them, the girl is as baffled as anyone. It seems the sisters need Maud to help stage elaborate séances for bereaved, wealthy patrons. As Maud is drawn deeper into the deception, playing her role as a "secret child," she is torn between her need to please and her growing conscience -- until a shocking betrayal makes clear just how heartless her so-called guardians are. Filled with tantalizing details of turn-of-the-century spiritualism and page-turning suspense, this lively historical novel features a winning heroine whom readers will not soon forget.

The Drowning Girl
Score: 3.5
From 11 Ratings

The Drowning Girl


  • Author : Caitlin R. Kiernan
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2012-03-06
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 10 : 9781101577196


The Drowning Girl Book Description :

India Morgan Phelps-Imp to her friends-is schizophrenic. Struggling with her perceptions of reality, Imp must uncover the truth about her encounters with creatures out of myth-or from something far, far stranger...

Talon s Grasp

Talon s Grasp


  • Author : Zachary Vaudo
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2017-05
  • Genre:
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 0998970018


Talon s Grasp Book Description :

A shadowy evil has started to kill innocents to fill its appetite for blood. It's already claimed one, and now Talon Pike, Enforcer for the mystical Enclave, stands in its way. Talon must avenge the fallen innocent if her soul will ever be laid to rest. It's a hell of a task for a day off, but he wouldn't have it any other way.

The Drowned Muse

The Drowned Muse


  • Author : Anne-Gaëlle Saliot
  • Publisher : OUP Oxford
  • Release Date : 2015-09-10
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages : 304
  • ISBN 10 : 9780191018978


The Drowned Muse Book Description :

The Drowned Muse is a study of the extraordinary destiny, in the history of European culture, of an object which could seem, at first glance, quite ordinary in the history of European culture. It tells the story of a mask, the cast of a young girl's face entitled "L'Inconnue de la Seine," the Unknown Woman of the Seine, and its subsequent metamorphoses as a cultural figure. Legend has it that the "Inconnue" drowned herself in Paris at the end of the nineteenth century. The forensic scientist tending to her unidentified corpse at the Paris Morgue was supposedly so struck by her allure that he captured in plaster the contours of her face. This unknown girl, also referred to as "The Mona Lisa of Suicide", has since become the object of an obsessive interest that started in the late 1890s, reached its peak in the 1930s, and continues to reverberate today. Aby Warburg defines art history as "a ghost story for grown-ups." This study is similarly "a ghost story for grown-ups", narrating the aura of a cultural object that crosses temporal, geographical, and linguistic frontiers. It views the "Inconnue" as a symptomatic expression of a modern world haunted by the earlier modernity of the nineteenth century. It investigates how the mask's metamorphoses reflect major shifts in the cultural history of the last two centuries, approaching the "Inconnue" as an entry point to understand a phenomenon characteristic of 20th- and 21st-century modernity: the translatability of media. Doing so, this study mobilizes discourses surrounding the "Inconnue", casting them as points of negotiation through which we may consider the modern age.

The Drowned Detective
Score: 3.5
From 4 Ratings

The Drowned Detective


  • Author : Neil Jordan
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release Date : 2016-05-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 272
  • ISBN 10 : 9781632864475


The Drowned Detective Book Description :

Jonathan is a private detective in a decaying eastern European city. He is drowning in his work, his failing marriage, and the corrupt landscape that surrounds him. One day, he is approached by an elderly couple to investigate the disappearance of their daughter, who has been missing for nearly two decades. Troubled by the faded photograph of a little girl the couple presses on him--she's the same age as his own daughter--he feels compelled to find her. Then one night, as he is contemplating his troubled marriage, he encounters a young woman crouched at the foot of a stone angel on the bridge spanning the river that divides the city, a woman who suddenly jumps into the icy water below. Plunging after her, Jonathan finds himself dragged into her ghostly world of confusion, coincidence, and intrigue, and the city he thought he knew becomes strange, mysterious, and threatening. Combining the language and imagery of film with those of an extremely gifted writer, Neil Jordan has created a haunting novel that intrigues, delights, and surprises with its precise language, sly humor, imaginative range, and narrative flair.

The Case of the Drowned Pearl  A Murder Most Unladylike Mini Mystery
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Case of the Drowned Pearl A Murder Most Unladylike Mini Mystery


  • Author : Robin Stevens
  • Publisher : Penguin UK
  • Release Date : 2020-02-20
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 128
  • ISBN 10 : 9780241427323


The Case of the Drowned Pearl A Murder Most Unladylike Mini Mystery Book Description :

A thrilling mini Murder Most Unladylike mystery, specially written and published for World Book Day 2020. Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are best friends, schoolgirls - and detectives. And wherever they go, mysteries will find them... While on a seaside holiday with their friends George and Alexander, the Detective Society discover the body of famous swimmer Antonia Braithwaite - nicknamed The Pearl - on the beach. Everyone presumes that she drowned accidentally - but how could such a famous swimmer have struggled to swim? Even more mysteriously, three guests at the girls' hotel all wanted Antonia dead... Can the Detective Society solve this mystery? Or will they sink under the pressure? Praise for the Murder Most Unladylike mysteries: 'This is that rare thing: a series that gets better with every book' Telegraph 'Thrilling' Guardian 'A total delight' Metro