The Good Neighbors  2  Kith
Score: 3
From 1 Ratings

The Good Neighbors 2 Kith


  • Author : Holly Black
  • Publisher : Scholastic Inc.
  • Release Date : 2013-07-30
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 128
  • ISBN 10 : 9780545457552


The Good Neighbors 2 Kith Book Description :

From the amazing imagination of bestselling author Holly Black, a mysterious and wonderful teen graphic novel masterpiece. Rue Silver's life is not what it appears to be. Her mother is a faerie, and has been taken back to the faerie realm. As Rue goes to bring her back, she must travel deep into an inhuman world. At the same time, the faerie realm is venturing into our world too, and taking its toll on those Rue loves. When her grandfather's plans threaten Rue's city, she realizes that she's the only one who can stop him. But is Rue a human or a faerie? Where does she fit? How does she know the difference between love and enchantment?

Good Neighbors 2

Good Neighbors 2


  • Author : John P. Porec
  • Publisher : AuthorHouse
  • Release Date : 2019-02-18
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 38
  • ISBN 10 : 9781546277897


Good Neighbors 2 Book Description :

These tales are written just for you, our special friend and honorary neighbor.

Representing the Good Neighbor

Representing the Good Neighbor


  • Author : Carol A. Hess
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release Date : 2013-06-26
  • Genre: Music
  • Pages : 336
  • ISBN 10 : 9780199339891


Representing the Good Neighbor Book Description :

Winner of the 2015 Robert M. Stevenson Award from the American Musicological Society In Representing the Good Neighbor: Music, Difference, and the Pan American Dream, Carol A. Hess investigates the reception of Latin American art music in the US during the twentieth century. Hers is the first study to probe Latin American art music in relation to Pan Americanism, or the idea that the American nations are bound by common aspirations. Under the Good Neighbor policy, crafted by the administration of President Franklin D. Roosevelt to cement hemispheric solidarity amid fears of European fascism, Latin American art music flourished and US critics applauded it as "universal." During the Cold War, however, this repertory assumed a very different status. While the United States supported Latin American military dictators to assuage fears that communism would overwhelm the hemisphere, musical works were increasingly objectified through essentializing adjectives such as "exotic," distinctive," or "national"--through the filter of difference. Hess explores this phenomenon by tracking the reception in the United States of the so-called Big Three: Carlos Ch?vez (Mexico), Heitor Villa-Lobos (Brazil), and Alberto Ginastera (Argentina). She also evaluates several important US composers and critics-Copland, Thomson, Rosenfeld, and others-in relation to Pan Americanism, and offers a new interpretation of a work about Latin America by US composer Fredric Rzewski, 36 Variations on "The People United Will Never Be Defeated!" Whether discussing works performed in modern music concerts of the 1920s, at the 1939 World's Fair, the inauguration of the New York State Theater in 1966, or for the US Bicentennial, Hess illuminates ways in which North-South relations continue to inform our understanding of Latin American art music today. As the first book to examine in detail the critical reception of Latin American music in the United States, Representing the Good Neighbor promises to be a landm

Kith

Kith


  • Author : Holly Black
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2009
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 111
  • ISBN 10 : 0439855632


Kith Book Description :

While sixteen-year-old Rue Silver travels into the faerie realm to find her mother, faerie creatures are entering the human world and wreaking havoc, forcing Rue to ponder where her loyalty should lie.

The Dismantling of the Good Neighbor Policy

The Dismantling of the Good Neighbor Policy


  • Author : Bryce Wood
  • Publisher : University of Texas Press
  • Release Date : 2010-07-22
  • Genre: Political Science
  • Pages : 308
  • ISBN 10 : 0292785542


The Dismantling of the Good Neighbor Policy Book Description :

The Good Neighbor Policy was unique: a great power obligated itself not to use force in its dealings with twenty smaller powers and not to interfere in their domestic politics. It was a policy that lasted, with some perturbations, for twenty years: instituted by President Roosevelt in 1933 and carried out effectively from 1933 to 1943 by word and action, maintained during the Second World War largely as a result of British concern for continuance of Argentine beef exports, codified in the Charter of the Organization of American States in 1948, and reasserted by Truman and Acheson in 1950–51, it was covertly repudiated in Guatemala in 1954 by Eisenhower and the Dulles brothers, and not so secretly by Kennedy in the disastrous Bay of Pigs invasion of 1961. Openly shattered in the Dominican Republic by Johnson in 1965, it has since been completely abandoned in favor of the usual relationships between large and small powers. Working with documents from the Public Records Office in London and the National Archives, with recently released materials from the U.S. Department of State, and with secondary sources, Bryce Wood describes the temptations laid before the leaders of one powerful state by its occasionally recalcitrant neighbors, and the ways of reacting that were found. Having told half the story in his The Making of the Good Neighbor Policy, Wood now concludes it in the present volume. One of the chief casualties is shown to be the Organization of American States, which since 1954 has found itself badly crippled in its work to promote harmony and continued cooperation among the member states.

The Good Neighbors  3  Kind

The Good Neighbors 3 Kind


  • Author : Holly Black
  • Publisher : Scholastic Inc.
  • Release Date : 2013-07-30
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 128
  • ISBN 10 : 9780545388122


The Good Neighbors 3 Kind Book Description :

Holly Black and Ted Naifeh weave another masterful mix of fantasy and the unexpected. After biding their time, the faeries have taken control of the human world. The fey and mortals might not be such good neighbors after all. Rue's world is fragmenting. The fey have taken over her city, and now the humans must share. Her grandfather is gone. Her faerie mother is triumphant. Her human father is despondent. And her boyfriend? He would rather be eaten alive by mergirls than be with Rue. Tension between the humans and faeries is growing, and Rue feels pulled in both directions. In some ways, she feels like her place is in the human world-with her friends, her father, and the humans who want to protect themselves. But then there's her fey half-with her beautiful, dangerous mother, the faeries, and her kinship with the natural world. Can Rue fix the rift between the fey and the humans? Or does she have the courage to continue her grandfather's interrupted plan?

The Good Neighbour

The Good Neighbour


  • Author : Beth Miller
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2015-09-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 400
  • ISBN 10 : 9781473501126


The Good Neighbour Book Description :

Everyone has secrets. How far will you go to protect yours? After living next to the neighbours from hell, Minette is overjoyed when Cath and her two children move in next door. Cath soon becomes her confidante, a kindred spirit, even her daughter’s babysitter. But Cath keeps herself unusually guarded and is reluctant to speak of her past. And when Minette witnesses something unspeakable, she begins to question whether she really knows her new friend at all... An addictive and gripping novel, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Daughter