The Hazel Wood
Score: 4
From 48 Ratings

The Hazel Wood


  • Author : Melissa Albert
  • Publisher : Flatiron Books
  • Release Date : 2018-01-30
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 368
  • ISBN 10 : 9781250147912


The Hazel Wood Book Description :

Welcome to Melissa Albert's The Hazel Wood—the fiercely stunning New York Times bestseller everyone is raving about! Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the uncanny bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a cult-classic book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate, the Hazel Wood, Alice learns how bad her luck can really get: Her mother is stolen away—by a figure who claims to come from the Hinterland, the cruel supernatural world where her grandmother's stories are set. Alice's only lead is the message her mother left behind: “Stay away from the Hazel Wood.” Alice has long steered clear of her grandmother’s cultish fans. But now she has no choice but to ally with classmate Ellery Finch, a Hinterland superfan who may have his own reasons for wanting to help her. To retrieve her mother, Alice must venture first to the Hazel Wood, then into the world where her grandmother's tales began—and where she might find out how her own story went so wrong. Don’t miss the New York Times bestselling sequel to The Hazel Wood, The Night Country, out now, or Tales from the Hinterland, coming January 12, 2021!

Tales from the Hinterland

Tales from the Hinterland


  • Author : Melissa Albert
  • Publisher : Flatiron Books
  • Release Date : 2021-01-12
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 240
  • ISBN 10 : 9781250302731


Tales from the Hinterland Book Description :

A gorgeously illustrated collection of the twelve original stories that frame Melissa Albert’s New York Times bestsellers The Hazel Wood and The Night Country. Before The Hazel Wood, there was Althea Proserpine’s Tales from the Hinterland... Journey into the Hinterland, a brutal and beautiful world where a young woman spends a night with Death, brides are wed to a mysterious house in the trees, and an enchantress is killed twice—and still lives. Perfect for new readers and dedicated Hinterland fans alike, Tales from the Hinterland features full-page illustrations by Jim Tierney, foil stamping, two-color interior printing, and printed endpapers.

The Night Country
Score: 3
From 6 Ratings

The Night Country


  • Author : Melissa Albert
  • Publisher : Flatiron Books
  • Release Date : 2020-01-07
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 336
  • ISBN 10 : 9781250246080


The Night Country Book Description :

The New York Times bestselling sequel to Melissa Albert’s beloved The Hazel Wood! In The Night Country, Alice Proserpine dives back into a menacing, mesmerizing world of dark fairy tales and hidden doors of The Hazel Wood. Follow her and Ellery Finch as they learn The Hazel Wood was just the beginning, and that worlds die not with a whimper, but a bang. With Finch’s help, Alice escaped the Hinterland and her reclusive grandmother’s dark legacy. Now she and the rest of the dregs of the fairy tale world have washed up in New York City, where Alice is trying to make a new, unmagical life. But something is stalking the Hinterland’s survivors—and she suspects their deaths may have a darker purpose. Meanwhile, in the winking out world of the Hinterland, Finch seeks his own adventure, and—if he can find it—a way back home... Don’t miss Tales from the Hinterland, coming January 12, 2021!

The Hazel Wood  Chapter Sampler

The Hazel Wood Chapter Sampler


  • Author : Melissa Albert
  • Publisher : Flatiron Books
  • Release Date : 2017-10-31
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 61
  • ISBN 10 : 9781250194015


The Hazel Wood Chapter Sampler Book Description :

This excerpt from The Hazel Wood—Melissa Albert's fiercely stunning contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of The Magicians—contains the first six chapters. Everyone is talking about The Hazel Wood! “Thoroughly, creepily captivating.” —Kristin Cashore, author of Graceling and Jane, Unlimited “This book is pure imagination candy.” —Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval “Destined to be a classic.” —Kami Garcia, author of The Lovely Reckless “Absolutely breathtaking.” —Seanan McGuire, author of Every Heart a Doorway “Terrifying, magical, and surprisingly funny.” —Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places “Unlike anything else I’ve ever read before.” —Evelyn Skye, author of The Crown’s Game “A part of me will never leave The Hazel Wood.” —Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere “An elegant dark fairy tale, full of the power of story.” —Kat Howard, author of Roses and Rot

Tears of a Tiger
Score: 4
From 24 Ratings

Tears of a Tiger


  • Author : Sharon M. Draper
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2013-07-23
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 162
  • ISBN 10 : 9781442489134


Tears of a Tiger Book Description :

Three boys struggle to come to terms with the death of a friend in a drunk-driving auto accident in which all four were involved, in a story told through newspaper stories, diary entries, school announcements, telephone conversations, and classroom assignments.

Dark Dreams
Score: 4
From 2 Ratings

Dark Dreams


  • Author : Roy Hazelwood
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release Date : 2010-04-01
  • Genre: True Crime
  • Pages : 288
  • ISBN 10 : 1429989599


Dark Dreams Book Description :

The Evil That Men Do introduced readers to the lifework and the techniques of FBI profiler Roy Hazelwood. Now, in Dark Dreams, Hazelwood-- writing with bestselling author Stephen G. Michaud-- will take then deep into the minds of his prey, the world's most dangerous sexual criminals, and reveal the extent to which these individuals permeate our society. Profiler Roy Hazelwood is one of the world's leading experts on the strangest and most dangerous of all aberrant offenders-- the sexual criminal. In Dark Dreams he reveals the twisted motive and thinking that go into the most reprehensible crimes. He also catalogs the innovative and remarkably effective techniques-- investigative approaches that he helped pioneer at the FBI's Behavioral Science Unit-- that allow law enforcement agents to construct psychological profiles of the offenders who commit these crimes. Hazelwood has helped track down some of the most violent and well-known criminals in modern history; in Dark Dreams he takes readers into his world-- a sinister world inhabited by scores of dangerous offenders for every Roy Hazelwood who would put them behind bars: * A young woman disappears from the convenience store where she works. Her skeletonized remains are found in a field, near a torture device. Who committed this heinous crime? And why? * A teenager's body is found hanging in a storm sewer. His clothes are neatly folded by the entrance and a stopwatch is found in his mouth. Is he the victim of a bizarre, ritualistic murder...or an elaborate masturbatory fantasy gone awry? * A married couple, driving with their toddler in the backseat, pick up a female hitchhiker. They kidnap her and for seven years keep her as a sexual slave. The wife agreed to this inhuman arrangement in exchange for having a second child. Who was to blame? As gruesome as the crimes are and as unsettling as the odds seem, Hazelwood proves that the right amount of determination and logic can bring even the most cunning and devious cri

Britain s Trees

Britain s Trees


  • Author : Jo Woolf
  • Publisher : Pavilion Books
  • Release Date : 2020-04-01
  • Genre: Nature
  • Pages : 211
  • ISBN 10 : 9781911657170


Britain s Trees Book Description :

This lovely book will enable the reader to identify Britain's trees and enjoy reading the rich folklore and traditions connected with them. From hawthorn to holly, from beech to blackthorn, each of Britain's 40 or so native trees are illustrated and a text weaves together the fascinating natural history, folklore, traditions, and remedies connected with them. The stories of some of Britain's oldest and most beloved trees, some dating back thousands of years, are included too. As well as a fascinating book to dip into, the illustrations mean it also functions as a handy identification guide.

An Unkindness of Magicians
Score: 3.5
From 10 Ratings

An Unkindness of Magicians


  • Author : Kat Howard
  • Publisher : Gallery / Saga Press
  • Release Date : 2018-06-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 384
  • ISBN 10 : 9781481451208


An Unkindness of Magicians Book Description :

“A remarkable writer.” —Neil Gaiman, bestselling author of American Gods An Alex Award Winner There is a dark secret that is hiding at the heart of New York City and diminishing the city’s magicians’ power in this fantasy thriller by acclaimed author Kat Howard. In New York City, magic controls everything. But the power of magic is fading. No one knows what is happening, except for Sydney—a new, rare magician with incredible power that has been unmatched in decades, and she may be the only person who is able to stop the darkness that is weakening the magic. But Sydney doesn’t want to help the system, she wants to destroy it. Sydney comes from the House of Shadows, which controls the magic with the help of sacrifices from magicians.

Hazel Wood Girl

Hazel Wood Girl


  • Author : Judy May Murphy
  • Publisher : The O'Brien Press
  • Release Date : 2012-10-04
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 224
  • ISBN 10 : 9781847174789


Hazel Wood Girl Book Description :

DAY ONE I have NO friends. None. Count them. It’s OFFICIAL since last night, and I can’t even feel angry any more these days. I don’t feel anything now, it’s like having pins-and-needles in the places where I used to feel happy or sad. I mean, God, you’d think that I could make one person like me after six months here. I can’t believe people are still annoyed that I had lunch with Danny from Chemistry when I didn’t even know he was that girl’s boyfriend for the last million years. I think they just like having someone easy to hate. Ever since her family moved to the country to live on a farm, Poppy's been miserable. She has a new life and a new school but unfortunately no new friends. Luckily, that's all about to change...