The Iran Wars

The Iran Wars


  • Author : Jay Solomon
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2016-08-23
  • Genre: Political Science
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 10 : 9780812993653


The Iran Wars Book Description :

From the Wall Street Journal reporter who’s been breaking news on the historic and potentially disastrous Iran nuclear deal comes a deeply reported exploration of the country’s decades-long power struggle with the United States—for readers of Steve Coll’s Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright’s The Looming Tower For more than a decade, the United States has been engaged in a war with Iran as momentous as any other in the Middle East—a war all the more significant as it has largely been hidden from public view. Through a combination of economic sanctions, global diplomacy, and intelligence work, successive U.S. administrations have struggled to contain Iran’s aspirations to become a nuclear power and dominate the region—what many view as the most serious threat to peace in the Middle East. Meanwhile, Iran has used regional instability to its advantage to undermine America’s interests. The Iran Wars is an absorbing account of a battle waged on many levels—military, financial, and covert. Jay Solomon’s book is the product of extensive in-depth reporting and interviews with all the key players in the conflict—from high-ranking Iranian officials to Secretary of State John Kerry and his negotiating team. With a reporter’s masterly investigative eye and the narrative dexterity of a great historian, Solomon shows how Iran’s nuclear development went unnoticed for years by the international community only to become its top security concern. He catalogs the blunders of both the Bush and Obama administrations as they grappled with how to engage Iran, producing a series of both carrots and sticks. And he takes us inside the hotel suites where the 2015 nuclear agreement was negotiated, offering a frank assessment of the uncertain future of the U.S.-Iran relationship. This is a book rife with revelations, from the secret communications between the Obama administration and the Iranian government to dispatches from the front lines of the new field of financial w

The Iran Wars

The Iran Wars


  • Author : Jay Solomon
  • Publisher : Random House Incorporated
  • Release Date : 2016
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 336
  • ISBN 10 : 9780812993646


The Iran Wars Book Description :

This is the deeply reported, riveting account of a war waged on

The Iran Iraq War

The Iran Iraq War


  • Author : Pierre Razoux
  • Publisher : Harvard University Press
  • Release Date : 2015-11-03
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 640
  • ISBN 10 : 9780674088634


The Iran Iraq War Book Description :

From 1980 to 1988 Iran and Iraq fought the longest conventional war of the century. It included tragic slaughter of child soldiers, use of chemical weapons, striking of civilian shipping, and destruction of cities. Pierre Razoux offers an unflinching look at a conflict seared into the region’s collective memory but little understood in the West.

The Iran Iraq War

The Iran Iraq War


  • Author : Williamson Murray
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release Date : 2014-09-04
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 412
  • ISBN 10 : 9781107062290


The Iran Iraq War Book Description :

A comprehensive account of the Iran-Iraq War through the lens of the Iraqi regime and its senior military commanders.

The Twilight War
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

The Twilight War


  • Author : David Crist
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2012-07-19
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 656
  • ISBN 10 : 9781101572344


The Twilight War Book Description :

The dramatic secret history of our undeclared thirty-year conflict with Iran, revealing newsbreaking episodes of covert and deadly operations that brought the two nations to the brink of open war For three decades, the United States and Iran have engaged in a secret war. It is a conflict that has never been acknowledged and a story that has never been told. This surreptitious war began with the Iranian revolution and simmers today inside Iraq and in the Persian Gulf. Fights rage in the shadows, between the CIA and its network of spies and Iran's intelligence agency. Battles are fought at sea with Iranians in small speedboats attacking Western oil tankers. This conflict has frustrated five American presidents, divided administrations, and repeatedly threatened to bring the two nations into open warfare. It is a story of shocking miscalculations, bitter debates, hidden casualties, boldness, and betrayal. A senior historian for the federal government with unparalleled access to senior officials and key documents of several U.S. administrations, Crist has spent more than ten years researching and writing The Twilight War, and he breaks new ground on virtually every page. Crist describes the series of secret negotiations between Iran and the United States after 9/11, culminating in Iran's proposal for a grand bargain for peace-which the Bush administration turned down. He documents the clandestine counterattack Iran launched after America's 2003 invasion of Iraq, in which thousands of soldiers disguised as reporters, tourists, pilgrims, and aid workers toiled to change the government in Baghdad and undercut American attempts to pacify the Iraqi insurgency. And he reveals in vivid detail for the first time a number of important stories of military and intelligence operations by both sides, both successes and failures, and their typically unexpected consequences. Much has changed in the world since 1979, but Iran and America remain each other's biggest national security ni

The Longest War

The Longest War


  • Author : Dilip Hiro
  • Publisher : Psychology Press
  • Release Date : 1989
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 323
  • ISBN 10 : 9780415904070


The Longest War Book Description :

In The Longest War, Dilip Hiro describes the causes and courses of the Iran-Iraq military conflict and its effect on the two antagonists, as well as the rest of the world. He reveals the intricate twists and turns of international diplomacy and the realpolitik behind the rhetoric, providing a comprehensive and admirably balanced account of the political and military aspects of the "longest war."

Iran  Revolution  and Proxy Wars

Iran Revolution and Proxy Wars


  • Author : Ofira Seliktar
  • Publisher : Springer Nature
  • Release Date : 2019-12-17
  • Genre: Political Science
  • Pages : 245
  • ISBN 10 : 9783030294182


Iran Revolution and Proxy Wars Book Description :

This book analyzes the historical quest of the Islamic Republic of Iran to export its revolution to the Muslim countries in the Middle East and beyond. The authors argue that Iran exported its revolution by using proxies such as Hezbollah, the Iraqi Shite militias, and the Houthis. The study unravels the casual chain behind less-known cases of Iranian sponsorship of al Qaeda (Central) and al Qaida in Iraq. It combines rigorous theory with detailed empirical analysis which can add to the current debate about ways to roll back Iran’s revolutionary export.

The Iran Iraq War

The Iran Iraq War


  • Author : Rob Johnson
  • Publisher : Macmillan International Higher Education
  • Release Date : 2010-11-24
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 192
  • ISBN 10 : 9781137267788


The Iran Iraq War Book Description :

The Iran-Iraq War was personified by the determination and ambition of the key leaders, Saddam Hussein and Ayatollah Khomeini, and characterised by mass casualties, the repression of the civilian populations and chemical warfare. Fought with lucrative oil money, it left the belligerents with crippling debts. In this important reappraisal, Rob Johnson explores the major issues surrounding the war, offers a fresh analysis of the military aspects and assesses the far-reaching consequences for the wider world. It is essential reading for anyone who wishes to understand the ensuing conflicts in the reqion, including the invasion of Iraq in 2003.

The Iran Iraq War

The Iran Iraq War


  • Author : Efraim Karsh
  • Publisher : The Rosen Publishing Group
  • Release Date : 2009
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages : 96
  • ISBN 10 : 9781435874992


The Iran Iraq War Book Description :

Describes the events preceding and during the Iran-Iraq War, detailing the battles, political negotiations, and consequences of the war.