The Reader Book
Score: 3.5
From 223 Ratings

The Reader


  • Author : Bernhard Schlink
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2001-05-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 224
  • ISBN 10 : 9780375726972

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Reader Excerpt :

Hailed for its coiled eroticism and the moral claims it makes upon the reader, this mesmerizing novel is a story of love and secrets, horror and compassion, unfolding against the haunted landscape of postwar Germany. When he falls ill on his way home from school, fifteen-year-old Michael Berg is rescued by Hanna, a woman twice his age. In time she becomes his lover—then she inexplicably disappears. When Michael next sees her, he is a young law student, and she is on trial for a hideous crime. As he watches her refuse to defend her innocence, Michael gradually realizes that Hanna may be guarding a secret she considers more shameful than murder.

The Reader Book
Score: 3.5
From 189 Ratings

The Reader


  • Author : Bernhard Schlink
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 1999-03-07
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 226
  • ISBN 10 : 9780375707971

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Reader Excerpt :

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER • Hailed for its coiled eroticism and the moral claims it makes upon the reader, this mesmerizing novel is a story of love and secrets, horror and compassion, unfolding against the haunted landscape of postwar Germany. "A formally beautiful, disturbing and finally morally devastating novel." —Los Angeles Times When he falls ill on his way home from school, fifteen-year-old Michael Berg is rescued by Hanna, a woman twice his age. In time she becomes his lover—then she inexplicably disappears. When Michael next sees her, he is a young law student, and she is on trial for a hideous crime. As he watches her refuse to defend her innocence, Michael gradually realizes that Hanna may be guarding a secret she considers more shameful than murder.

The Reader Book
Score: 3
From 13 Ratings

The Reader


  • Author : Traci Chee
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2016-09-13
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 464
  • ISBN 10 : 9780698410626

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Reader Excerpt :

Instant New York Times Bestseller A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible. With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.

Stylistic Manipulation of the Reader in Contemporary Fiction Book

Stylistic Manipulation of the Reader in Contemporary Fiction


  • Author : Sandrine Sorlin
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Release Date : 2019-12-12
  • Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Pages : 264
  • ISBN 10 : 9781350062986

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Stylistic Manipulation of the Reader in Contemporary Fiction Excerpt :

This book focuses on how readers can be 'manipulated' during their experience of reading fictional texts and how they are incited to perceive, process and interpret certain textual patterns. Offering fine-grained stylistic analysis of diverse genres, including crime fiction, short stories, poetry and novels, the book deciphers various linguistic, pragmatic and multimodal techniques. These are skilfully used by authors to achieve specific effects through a subtle manipulation of deixis, metalepsis, dialogue, metaphors, endings, inferences or rhetorical, narratorial and typographical control. Exploring contemporary texts such as The French Lieutenant's Woman, The Remains of the Day and We Need to Talk About Kevin, chapters delve into how readers are pragmatically positioned or cognitively (mis)directed as the author guides their attention and influences their judgment. They also show how readers' responses can, conversely, bring about a certain form of manipulation as readers challenge the positions the texts invite them to occupy.

The Reader s Digest Book

The Reader s Digest


  • Author : De Witt Wallace
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1959
  • Genre: Periodicals
  • Pages : 1708
  • ISBN 10 : STANFORD:36105006950484

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Reader s Digest Excerpt :

The Reader s Adviser Book

The Reader s Adviser


  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1969
  • Genre: Best books
  • Pages : 946
  • ISBN 10 : UOM:39015036931387

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Reader s Adviser Excerpt :

The Reader s Digest Book

The Reader s Digest


  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1985
  • Genre: Periodicals
  • Pages : 1456
  • ISBN 10 : UCAL:B3644106

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Reader s Digest Excerpt :

The Reader s Digest Legal Question   Answer Book Book

The Reader s Digest Legal Question Answer Book


  • Author : Reader's Digest Association
  • Publisher : Readers Digest
  • Release Date : 1988
  • Genre: Law
  • Pages : 716
  • ISBN 10 : 0895772914

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Reader s Digest Legal Question Answer Book Excerpt :

Answers 2,000 legal questions arranged by subject. Defines 400 legal terms.

The Reader s Johnson Book

The Reader s Johnson


  • Author : Samuel Johnson
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1940
  • Genre: Uncategoriezed
  • Pages : 618
  • ISBN 10 : UOM:39015066052344

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Reader s Johnson Excerpt :

John Clare and the Imagination of the Reader Book

John Clare and the Imagination of the Reader


  • Author : Paul Chirico
  • Publisher : Palgrave MacMillan
  • Release Date : 2007-07-12
  • Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Pages : 250
  • ISBN 10 : UCSC:32106019117529

DOWNLOAD BOOK
John Clare and the Imagination of the Reader Excerpt :

This broad and original study of the full range of John Clare's work is the first to take seriously his repeated appeals to the judgement of future readers. Restoring the suppressed history of Clare's deep cultural engagement, it teases out, in clear terms, the often unexpected complexities of his varied writings. A series of close readings reveals Clare's sophisticated poetics: his covert quotations, his careful analysis of the history and culture of his own place, and his fascination with literary success and posthumous fame.

The Reader s Encyclopedia of World Drama Book

The Reader s Encyclopedia of World Drama


  • Author : John Gassner
  • Publisher : Ty Crowell Company
  • Release Date : 1969
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages : 1064
  • ISBN 10 : UCAL:B4353494

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Reader s Encyclopedia of World Drama Excerpt :

Comprehensive reference work which covers the drama of all five continents from its origins to the present, including plays, playwrights, national dramas and the major genres