The Second Girl
Score: 3.5
From 96 Ratings

The Second Girl


  • Author : David Swinson
  • Publisher : Mulholland Books
  • Release Date : 2016-06-07
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 368
  • ISBN 10 : 9780316264181


The Second Girl Book Description :

He's a good detective...with a bad habit. One of the best crime novels of 2016! - The New York Times Book Review, Booklist Frank Marr knows crime in Washington, DC. A decorated former police detective, he retired early and now ekes a living as a private eye for a defense attorney. Frank Marr may be the best investigator the city has ever known, but the city doesn't know his dirty secret. A long-functioning drug addict, Frank has devoted his considerable skills to hiding his usage from others. But after accidentally discovering a kidnapped teenage girl in the home of an Adams Morgan drug gang, Frank becomes a hero and is thrust into the spotlight. He reluctantly agrees to investigate the disappearance of another girl--possibly connected to the first--and the heightened scrutiny may bring his own secrets to light, too. Frank is as slippery and charming an antihero as you've ever met, but he's also achingly vulnerable. The result is a mystery of startling intensity, a tightly coiled thriller where every scene may turn disastrous. THE SECOND GIRL is the crime novel of the season, and the start of a refreshing new series from an author who knows the criminal underworld inside and out. Don't miss Frank Marr's next case, CRIME SONG, out now!

The Second Girl
Score: 3.5
From 96 Ratings

The Second Girl


  • Author : David Swinson
  • Publisher : Mulholland Books
  • Release Date : 2016-06-07
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 368
  • ISBN 10 : 9780316264181


The Second Girl Book Description :

He's a good detective...with a bad habit. One of the best crime novels of 2016! - The New York Times Book Review, Booklist Frank Marr knows crime in Washington, DC. A decorated former police detective, he retired early and now ekes a living as a private eye for a defense attorney. Frank Marr may be the best investigator the city has ever known, but the city doesn't know his dirty secret. A long-functioning drug addict, Frank has devoted his considerable skills to hiding his usage from others. But after accidentally discovering a kidnapped teenage girl in the home of an Adams Morgan drug gang, Frank becomes a hero and is thrust into the spotlight. He reluctantly agrees to investigate the disappearance of another girl--possibly connected to the first--and the heightened scrutiny may bring his own secrets to light, too. Frank is as slippery and charming an antihero as you've ever met, but he's also achingly vulnerable. The result is a mystery of startling intensity, a tightly coiled thriller where every scene may turn disastrous. THE SECOND GIRL is the crime novel of the season, and the start of a refreshing new series from an author who knows the criminal underworld inside and out. Don't miss Frank Marr's next case, CRIME SONG, out now!

The Second Girl Detective Megapack

The Second Girl Detective Megapack


  • Author : Julia K. Duncan
  • Publisher : Wildside Press LLC
  • Release Date : 2014-05-22
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 2945
  • ISBN 10 : 9781479402915


The Second Girl Detective Megapack Book Description :

The Second Girl Detective Megapack collects 23 more novels with girl protagonists, sleuthing for fun and justice. Here are series from Julia K. Duncan, Roy J. Snell, Dorothy Wayne, Helen Randolph, and more -- nearly 3,000 pages of great girl-powered adventure! DORIS FORCE AT LOCKED GATES, by Julia K. Duncan DORIS FORCE AT CLOUDY COVE, by Julia K. Duncan DORIS FORCE AT RAVEN ROCK, by Julia K. Duncan FINDING THE LOST TREASURE, by Helen M. Persons THE MYSTERY OF ARNOLD HALL, by Helen M. Persons THE MYSTERY OF CARLITOS, by Helen Randolph THE SECRET OF CASA GRANDE, by Helen Randolph CROSSED TRAILS IN MEXICO, by Helen Randolph GREEN EYES , by Roy G. Snell THE PHANTOM VIOLIN, by Roy J. Snell THE CRYSTAL BALL, by Roy J. Snell DOROTHY DIXON AND THE DOUBLE COUSIN, by Dorothy Wayne DOROTHY DIXON WINS HER WINGS, by Dorothy Wayne DOROTHY DIXON AND THE MYSTERY PLANE, by Dorothy Wayne BETTY GORDON AT BRAMBLE FARM, by Alice B. Emerson BETTY GORDON IN WASHINGTON, by Alice B. Emerson and Josephine Lawrence BETTY GORDON IN THE LAND OF OIL, by Alice B. Emerson BETTY GORDON AT BOARDING SCHOOL, by Alice B. Emerson and Josephine Lawrence BETTY GORDON AT MOUNTAIN CAMP, by Alice B. Emerson THE ADVENTURE GIRLS AT THE K BAR O, by Clair Blank THE ADVENTURE GIRLS IN THE AIR, by Claire Banks THE ADVENTURE GIRLS AT HAPPINESS HOUSE, by Clair Blank THE SECRET OF STEEPLE ROCKS, by Harriet Pyne Grove If you enjoy this book, search your favorite ebook store for "Wildside Press Megapack" to see the more than 100 other entries in the series, covering mysteries, westerns, classics, science fiction, adventure stories, and much, much more!

The Second Woman
Score: 1
From 1 Ratings

The Second Woman


  • Author : Kenneth Cameron
  • Publisher : Orion
  • Release Date : 2010-04-15
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 9781409112037


The Second Woman Book Description :

The third Denton mystery centres on political intrigue, terrorism 1900s-style and the beginnings of the British Secret Intelligence Organisation, as London becomes a hotbed of anarchist plotting. Denton is drawn into a complex web of murder and revenge when a mysterious Polish woman is found dead in the house adjoining his - the one occupied by his lover, Janet Stryker - and while the police remain baffled, he begins to suspect she is the victim of some sort of political conspiracy. But involving himself in the life and death of Lydia Alken will prove more dangerous than he could have imagined, as Denton himself falls victim to the fledgling British Intelligence Service and discovers exactly what the price of freedom really is, while the real story of Lydia Alken's murder provides the biggest shock of all.

Television Style

Television Style


  • Author : Jeremy G. Butler
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release Date : 2010-04-05
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages : 238
  • ISBN 10 : 9781135890698


Television Style Book Description :

Style matters. Television relies on style—setting, lighting, videography, editing, and so on—to set moods, hail viewers, construct meanings, build narratives, sell products, and shape information. Yet, to date, style has been the most understudied aspect of the medium. In this book, Jeremy G. Butler examines the meanings behind television’s stylstic conventions. Television Style dissects how style signifies and what significance it has had in specific television contexts. Using hundreds of frame captures from television programs, Television Style dares to look closely at television. Miami Vice, ER, soap operas, sitcoms, and commercials, among other prototypical television texts, are deconstructed in an attempt to understand how style functions in television. Television Style also assays the state of style during an era of media convergence and the ostensible demise of network television. This book is a much needed introduction to television style, and essential reading at a moment when the medium is undergoing radical transformation, perhaps even a stylistic renaissance. Discover additional examples and resources on the companion website: www.tvstylebook.com.

The Second Sister
Score: 3.5
From 4 Ratings

The Second Sister


  • Author : Marie Bostwick
  • Publisher : Kensington Books
  • Release Date : 2015-04-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 368
  • ISBN 10 : 9781617736568


The Second Sister Book Description :

THE INSPIRATION FOR THE HALLMARK HALL OF FAME FILM CHRISTMAS EVERLASTING! From New York Times bestselling author Marie Bostwick comes an emotionally rich, inspiring novel about family, second chances—and the connections that bring women together in hope and healing... Years of long workdays and little sleep as a political campaigner are about to pay off now that Lucy Toomey’s boss is entering the White House. But when her estranged older sister, Alice, unexpectedly dies, Lucy is drawn back to Nilson’s Bay, her small, close-knit Wisconsin hometown. An accident in her teens left Alice mentally impaired, and she was content to stay in Nilson’s Bay. Lucy, meanwhile, got out and never looked back. But now, to meet the terms of Alice’s eccentric will, Lucy has taken up temporary residence in her sister’s cottage—and begins to see the town, and Alice’s life, anew. Alice’s diverse group of friends appears to have little in common besides an interest in quilting. Yet deep affection for Alice united them and soon Lucy, too, is brought into the fold as they share problems and stories. And as she finds warmth and support in this new circle, Lucy begins to understand this will be her sister’s enduring gift—a chance to move beyond her difficult past, and find what she has long been missing... “Beautiful, thought-provoking, tragic and redeeming, The Second Sister is a feel-good goldmine.” —USAToday “Fans of Debbie Macomber and Robyn Carr will enjoy this warm, witty novel of rediscovery and personal growth.” —Booklist

The Second Reginald Bretnor Megapack

The Second Reginald Bretnor Megapack


  • Author : Reginald Bretnor
  • Publisher : Wildside Press LLC
  • Release Date : 2014-08-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 652
  • ISBN 10 : 9781479403363


The Second Reginald Bretnor Megapack Book Description :

The Second Reginald Bretnor Megapack collects 15 great science fiction, fantasy, and mystery tales -- including two complete novels! Assembled here are: THE HAUNTING OF H.M.S. "DRYAD" FEGHOOT SHIPWRECKED THE GHOST CIVIL RIGHTS GNURRS COME FROM THE VOODVORK OUT LITTLE ANTON THE LADIES OF BEETLEGOOSE NINE COUNT VON SCHIMMELHORN AND THE TIME-PONY PAPA SCHIMMELHORN'S YANG PAPA SCHIMMELHORN AND THE S.O.D.O.M. SERUM SCHIMMELHORN’S GOLD T.V. A KILLING IN SWORDS IN A PICKLE THE GNU MUTATION If you enjoy this book, search your favorite ebook store for "Wildside Press Megapack" to see the more than 100 other entries in the series, covering science fiction, modern authors, mysteries, westerns, classics, adventure stories, and much, much more!

The Second Mack Reynolds Megapack

The Second Mack Reynolds Megapack


  • Author : Mack Reynolds
  • Publisher : Wildside Press LLC
  • Release Date : 2014-05-30
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 312
  • ISBN 10 : 9781479402960


The Second Mack Reynolds Megapack Book Description :

"The Second Mack Reynolds Megapack" assembles a stellar collection of rare and classic works by a science fiction master! Here are 21 tales spanning space and time, including: COME IN, SPACEPORT COMPOUNDED INTEREST THE BUSINESS, AS USUAL GOOD INDIAN NO RETURN FROM ELBA PACIFIST EARTHLINGS GO HOME! ALBATROSS THE ENEMY WITHIN SURVIVOR FAD SPACEMAN ON A SPREE THE ADVENTURE OF THE EXTRATERRESTRIAL UTOPIAN PRONE DOWN THE RIVER SECOND ADVENT ROMP FIDO ISOLATIONIST NOT IN THE RULES And if you enjoy this volume, don't forget to search your favorite ebook store for "Wildside Press Megapack" to see more entries in this great series, covering science fiction, fantasy, horror, mysteries, westerns, classics -- and much, much more!