The Wife
Score: 3.5
From 25 Ratings

The Wife


  • Author : Meg Wolitzer
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2007-11-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 224
  • ISBN 10 : 1416584889


The Wife Book Description :

Now a major motion picture starring Glenn Close in her Golden Globe–winning role! One of bestselling author Meg Wolitzer’s most beloved books—an “acerbically funny” (Entertainment Weekly) and “intelligent…portrait of deception” (The New York Times). The Wife is the story of the long and stormy marriage between a world-famous novelist, Joe Castleman, and his wife Joan, and the secret they’ve kept for decades. The novel opens just as Joe is about to receive a prestigious international award, The Helsinki Prize, to honor his career as one of America’s preeminent novelists. Joan, who has spent forty years subjugating her own literary talents to fan the flames of his career, finally decides to stop. Important and ambitious, The Wife is a sharp-eyed and compulsively readable story about a woman forced to confront the sacrifices she’s made in order to achieve the life she thought she wanted. “A rollicking, perfectly pitched triumph…Wolitzer’s talent for comedy of manners reaches a heady high” (Los Angeles Times), in this wise and candid look at the choices all men and women make—in marriage, work, and life.

The Wife
Score: 4
From 17 Ratings

The Wife


  • Author : Alafair Burke
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2018-01-23
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062390530


The Wife Book Description :

"This year's Gone Girl."—Harlan Coben A Boston Globe Best Book of 2018 | A Sun-Sentinel Best Mystery Book of 2018 | A Crime Reads Best Novel of 2018 His Scandal Her Secret From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself. When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past. Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look—at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe. This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke’s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

The Wife
Score: 3.5
From 11 Ratings

The Wife


  • Author : Sigrid Undset
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 1999
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 417
  • ISBN 10 : 0141181281


The Wife Book Description :

'There you can see Husaby, Kristin. May God grant you many happy days there, my wife!' The wife continues the story of a passionate and wilful woman in medieval Norway. Kristin Lavransdatter is now married to Erlend Nikulausson, a man whose single-minded determination to become an influential social and political figure forces Kristin to take over the management of Erlend's estate, Husaby, while raising their seven sons. Once again, Sigrid Undset presents the rich historical detail and compelling characters that make her Norway's most beloved author. Award-winning translator Tiina Nunnally not only captures the modern beauty of this historical epic, but she also restores passages omitted from the original English translation. 'A masterpiece . . . writing in a prose as vigorous, articulate and naturalistic as the novel it re-creates, Tiina Nunnally brilliantly captures a world both remote and strangely familiar.' -PEN/Book-of-the-Month Club Translation Prize citation

Ovid s Art and the Wife of Bath

Ovid s Art and the Wife of Bath


  • Author : Marilynn Desmond
  • Publisher : Cornell University Press
  • Release Date : 2006
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages : 206
  • ISBN 10 : 0801443792


Ovid s Art and the Wife of Bath Book Description :

Ovid's Art and the Wife of Bath examines how Ovid's Ars amatoria shaped the erotic discourses of the medieval West. The Ars amatoria circulated in medieval France and England as an authoritative treatise on desire; consequently, the sexualities of the medieval West are haunted by the imperial Roman constructions of desire that emerge from Ovid's text. The Ars amatoria ironically proposes the erotic potential of violence, and this aspect of the Ars proved to be enormously influential. Ovid's discourse on erotic violence provides a script for Heloise's epistolary expression of desire for Abelard. The Roman de la Rose extends the directives of the Ars with a rhetorical flourish and poetic excess that tests the limits of Ovidian irony. While Christine de Pizan critiqued the representations of erotic violence in the Rose, Chaucer appropriates the Ovidian discourse from the Roman de la Rose to construct the Wife of Bath--a female figure that today's readers find uncannily familiar. Well written and provocative, this book will interest scholars of premodern literature, especially those who work on Medieval English and French, as well as classical, texts. Marilynn Desmond draws on feminist and queer theory, which places Ovid's Art and the Wife of Bath at the cutting edge of debates in gender and sexuality. --Sherron E. Knopp, Williams College

Chaucer  The Wife of Bath s Prologue CD ROM Manual

Chaucer The Wife of Bath s Prologue CD ROM Manual


  • Author : Geoffrey Chaucer
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release Date : 1996-06-27
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages : 80
  • ISBN 10 : 0521565952


Chaucer The Wife of Bath s Prologue CD ROM Manual Book Description :

The Wife of Bath's Prologue on CD-ROM is the initial release in The Canterbury Tales on CD-ROM from Cambridge. The disk presents transcriptions, collations and digitized images of all 58 pre-1500 manuscript and print versions of Geoffrey Chaucer's famous poem - an important section of The Canterbury Tales. We provide on a single disk the material which Chaucer scholars have until now had to travel around the world to view in different libraries. The software allows sophisticated searches of all the witnesses of The Wife of Bath's Prologue simultaneously, giving scholars rapid access to a large archive of information of a kind never before realised.

The Wife

The Wife


  • Author : Anton Pavlovich Chekhov
  • Publisher : 1st World Publishing
  • Release Date : 2004-09
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 300
  • ISBN 10 : 1595400044


The Wife Book Description :

Purchase one of 1st World Library's Classic Books and help support our free internet library of downloadable eBooks. 1st World Library-Literary Society is a non-profit educational organization. Visit us online at www.1stWorldLibrary.ORG The author is well aware that whosoever discusses historical mysteries pleases the public best by being quite sure, and offering a definite and certain solution. Unluckily Science forbids, and conscience is on the same side. We verily do not know how the false Pucelle arrived at her success with the family of the true Maid; we do not know, or pretend to know, who killed Sir Edmund Berry Godfrey; or how Amy Robsart came by her death; or why the Valet was so important a prisoner. It is only possible to restate the cases, and remove, if we may, the errors and confusions which beset the problems. Such a tiny point as the year of Amy Robsart's marriage is stated variously by our historians. To ascertain the truth gave the author half a day's work, and, at last, he would have voted for the wrong year, had he not been aided by the superior acuteness of his friend, Mr. Hay Fleming. He feels morally certain that, in trying to set historians right about Amy Robsart, he must have committed some conspicuous blunders; these always attend such enterprises of rectification.

The Wife
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Wife


  • Author : Anne O. Nimmus
  • Publisher : Xlibris Corporation
  • Release Date : 2014-12-09
  • Genre:
  • Pages : 274
  • ISBN 10 : 9781499045550


The Wife Book Description :

This is my memoir. I know what you're thinking--what kind of an unexceptional egocentric thirty-something-year-old writes a memoir? I'll tell you--someone that had life figured out by kindergarten and, by college, was destined to take on the world with a certifiably impenetrable heart. I was religiously raised thinking that I would never ever screw things up the way my parents had, and unlike most marriages, mine really was meant to be happily forever after, that's until I realized I am really just one in six billion. We aren't so different. I am no stranger to love and fear.

The Wife

The Wife


  • Author :
  • Publisher : ITBM
  • Release Date : 2011
  • Genre: Malay fiction
  • Pages : 281
  • ISBN 10 : 9789830687773


The Wife Book Description :

The Wife Hunter

The Wife Hunter


  • Author : Denis Ignatius Moriarty
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 1838
  • Genre: Irish fiction
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : NYPL:33433074864301


The Wife Hunter Book Description :