Trouble Boys
Score: 5
From 4 Ratings

Trouble Boys


  • Author : Bob Mehr
  • Publisher : Da Capo Press
  • Release Date : 2016-03-01
  • Genre: Music
  • Pages : 520
  • ISBN 10 : 9780306822032


Trouble Boys Book Description :

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Based on a decade of research and reporting--as well as access to the Replacements' key principals, Paul Westerberg and Tommy Stinson--author Bob Mehr has fashioned something far more compelling than a conventional band bio. Trouble Boys is a deeply intimate portrait, revealing the primal factors and forces that shaped one of the most brilliant and notoriously self-destructive rock 'n' roll bands of all time. Beginning with riveting revelations about the Replacements' troubled early years, Trouble Boys follows the group as they rise within the early '80s American underground. It uncovers the darker truths behind the band's legendary drinking, showing how their addictions first came to define them, and then nearly destroyed them. A roaring road adventure, a heartrending family drama, and a cautionary showbiz tale, Trouble Boys has deservedly been hailed as an instant classic of rock lit.

Trouble Boys
Score: 5
From 4 Ratings

Trouble Boys


  • Author : Bob Mehr
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2016-03-01
  • Genre: Music
  • Pages : 520
  • ISBN 10 : 9780306822032


Trouble Boys Book Description :

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Based on a decade of research and reporting--as well as access to the Replacements' key principals, Paul Westerberg and Tommy Stinson--author Bob Mehr has fashioned something far more compelling than a conventional band bio. Trouble Boys is a deeply intimate portrait, revealing the primal factors and forces that shaped one of the most brilliant and notoriously self-destructive rock 'n' roll bands of all time. Beginning with riveting revelations about the Replacements' troubled early years, Trouble Boys follows the group as they rise within the early '80s American underground. It uncovers the darker truths behind the band's legendary drinking, showing how their addictions first came to define them, and then nearly destroyed them. A roaring road adventure, a heartrending family drama, and a cautionary showbiz tale, Trouble Boys has deservedly been hailed as an instant classic of rock lit.

Trouble Boys
Score: 5
From 4 Ratings

Trouble Boys


  • Author : Bob Mehr
  • Publisher : Da Capo Press
  • Release Date : 2016-03-01
  • Genre: Music
  • Pages : 520
  • ISBN 10 : 9780306818790


Trouble Boys Book Description :

Trouble Boys is the first definitive, no-holds-barred biography of one of the last great bands of the twentieth century: The Replacements. With full participation from reclusive singer and chief songwriter Paul Westerberg, bassist Tommy Stinson, guitarist Slim Dunlap, and the family of late band co-founder Bob Stinson, author Bob Mehr is able to tell the real story of this highly influential group, capturing their chaotic, tragic journey from the basements of Minneapolis to rock legend. Drawing on years of research and access to the band's archives at Twin/Tone Records and Warner Bros. Mehr also discovers previously unrevealed details from those in the group's inner circle, including family, managers, musical friends and collaborators.

The Trouble Boys

The Trouble Boys


  • Author : E. R. Fallon
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 2018-02-22
  • Genre: Detective and mystery stories
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 1911583514


The Trouble Boys Book Description :

The Godfather meets Elena Ferrante's Neapolitan novels, but with Gaelic complications, in E.R.Fallon's thrilling new novel. Trouble Boys is an historical crime novel about the Irish mob in New York City from the 1930s to the 1950s. The story opens in pre-WWII Europe when young Irish immigrant Colin O'Brien settles with his family in New York City. There Colin befriends a Cuban-American boy named Johnny Garcia. Life in America isn't what Colin's family expects and he experiences a shocking tragedy that alters his life. As Johnny and Colin grow into men, their friendship changes. They begin working for different crime syndicates, with Colin joining the ranks of charismatic Tom McPhalen's Irish mob and Johnny becoming a member of debonair Tito Bernal's Cuban gang. As Colin's rise in the ranks of organized crime becomes increasingly more brutal and demeaning and his friendship with Johnny deteriorates, he begins to question his place in the seductive yet violent world he's found himself in.

The Trouble With Boys

The Trouble With Boys


  • Author : Angela Phillips
  • Publisher :
  • Release Date : 1994-09-08
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages : 285
  • ISBN 10 : STANFORD:36105060942542


The Trouble With Boys Book Description :

A challenging and highly original look at the socialization of boys—the process that is creating the men of the future.

Double Trouble

Double Trouble


  • Author : Franklin W. Dixon
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2012-05-15
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 176
  • ISBN 10 : 9781442465381


Double Trouble Book Description :

Another hit trilogy featuring Frank and Joe Hardy! #25: Double Trouble launches the next three-book arc storyline, featuring a teen celebrity being stalked, with a twin brother who adds some interesting complications into the mix.

The Trouble Boy
Score: 3
From 2 Ratings

The Trouble Boy


  • Author : Tom Dolby
  • Publisher : Kensington Publishing Corp.
  • Release Date : 2005-02-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 272
  • ISBN 10 : 9781617731655


The Trouble Boy Book Description :

In the tradition of Bright Lights, Big City and Less Than Zero, Tom Dolby has written a searing debut novel about going after what you really want without losing yourself in the process. Powerfully written, keenly felt, The Trouble Boy heralds an exciting new voice in fiction. "This is about fame and celebrity and the lengths to which people will go to have a taste of it. . ." At twenty-two, Toby Griffin wants it all--fame, fortune, an Oscar-winning screenplay and a good-looking boyfriend by his side. For now, what he's got is a freelance writing job at a tanking online magazine, a walk-up sublet in the East Village and "the boys," a young posse of preppy Upper East Siders with a taste for high fashion, top-shelf liquor and other men. But for Toby, downing vodka cranberries and falling in and out of lust with a series of guys he knows as Subway Boy, Loft Boy and Goth Boy is getting old. That all changes when Toby gets the chance of a lifetime--working as a personal assistant to hip, ruthless film mogul, Cameron Cole. In this decadent, drug-fueled world of VIP lounges, endless networking and relentless hype, Toby discovers that nothing is what is seems and that anything and anyone can be spun into PR gold. Though he's making friends with all the right people. Toby realizes that succeeding in Manhattan isn't as easy as he thought--until the one tragic night that changes his future forever and puts him in a position of power he never could have imagined. But with Toby's name suddenly becoming Page Six material, his life is coming unglued. And as his professional contacts betray him and his friends reveal troubling secrets, his choices become that much harder--and that much more important. Now, in his first year on his own, Toby Griffin is about to learn the price of getting everything he ever wanted. "What really makes Toby's world so familiar--along with the author's lively, often-hilarious eye for even the most mundane social details--is the crisp prose and the snapp

The Trouble with Boys
Score: 4.5
From 10 Ratings

The Trouble with Boys


  • Author : Peg Tyre
  • Publisher : Harmony
  • Release Date : 2008-09-09
  • Genre: Family & Relationships
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307449771


The Trouble with Boys Book Description :

From the moment they step into the classroom, boys begin to struggle. They get expelled from preschool nearly five times more often than girls; in elementary school, they’re diagnosed with learning disorders four times as often. By eighth grade huge numbers are reading below basic level. And by high school, they’re heavily outnumbered in AP classes and, save for the realm of athletics, show indifference to most extra­curricular activities. Perhaps most alarmingly, boys now account for less than 43 percent of those enrolled in college, and the gap widens every semester! The imbalance in higher education isn’t just a “boy problem,” though. Boys’ decreasing college attendance is bad news for girls, too, because ad­missions officers seeking balanced student bodies pass over girls in favor of boys. The growing gender imbalance in education portends massive shifts for the next generation: how much they make and whom they marry. Interviewing hundreds of parents, kids, teachers, and experts, award-winning journalist Peg Tyre drills below the eye-catching statistics to examine how the educational system is failing our sons. She explores the convergence of culprits, from the emphasis on high-stress academics in preschool and kindergarten, when most boys just can’t tolerate sitting still, to the outright banning of recess, from the demands of No Child Left Behind, with its rigid emphasis on test-taking, to the boy-unfriendly modern curriculum with its focus on writing about “feelings” and its purging of “high-action” reading material, from the rise of video gaming and schools’ unease with technology to the lack of male teachers as role models. But this passionate, clearheaded book isn’t an exercise in finger-pointing. Tyre, the mother of two sons, offers notes from the front lines—the testimony of teachers and other school officials who are trying new techniques to motivate boys to learn again, one classroom at a time. The Trouble with Boys gives

Hopeful Girls  Troubled Boys

Hopeful Girls Troubled Boys


  • Author : Nancy López
  • Publisher : Psychology Press
  • Release Date : 2003
  • Genre: Education
  • Pages : 223
  • ISBN 10 : 0415930758


Hopeful Girls Troubled Boys Book Description :

By 2007, it is estimated that 9.2 million girls of colour will be enrolled in US colleges compared to 6.9 million boys of colour. Why the discrepancy? Lopez takes us to the schools, homes and workplaces of Caribbean youth to point out the different expectations that guide behaviour. Now the largest immigrant group in New York City, Lopez focuses in particular on these Caribbean teens to explain how and why US schools and cities are failing boys of colour. This is an ethnographic study on a topic of increasing interest to people in the field of education and anyone concerned about the future of young people.

The Boy Crisis
Score: 4
From 2 Ratings

The Boy Crisis


  • Author : Warren Farrell, PhD
  • Publisher : BenBella Books
  • Release Date : 2018-03-13
  • Genre: Family & Relationships
  • Pages :
  • ISBN 10 : 9781946885807


The Boy Crisis Book Description :

What is the boy crisis? It’s a crisis of education. Worldwide, boys are 50 percent less likely than girls to meet basic proficiency in reading, math, and science. It’s a crisis of mental health. ADHD is on the rise. And as boys become young men, their suicide rates go from equal to girls to six times that of young women. It’s a crisis of fathering. Boys are growing up with less-involved fathers and are more likely to drop out of school, drink, do drugs, become delinquent, and end up in prison. It’s a crisis of purpose. Boys’ old sense of purpose—being a warrior, a leader, or a sole breadwinner—are fading. Many bright boys are experiencing a “purpose void,” feeling alienated, withdrawn, and addicted to immediate gratification. So, what is The Boy Crisis? A comprehensive blueprint for what parents, teachers, and policymakers can do to help our sons become happier, healthier men, and fathers and leaders worthy of our respect.